1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DOING MY GSR SWAP WHAT ECU PLEASE HELP!!!

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by SNEEZIN WRX, Feb 24, 2004.

  1. SNEEZIN WRX

    SNEEZIN WRX Junior Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    i have a 93 civic ex OBD1 and i'm putting a 97' B18c1 OBD2 in it i am using my stock wiring harness..the only thing is that i don't know which ECU i need to use..someone told me i needed to use a OBD1 GSR ECU but when i look at the ECU reference chart on this website it says that from 94 - 01 they all use the P72 so does that mean that all GSR ECU's are the same regardless of OBD and that i can use the one thats coming with my swap??
     
  2. Slammed90Lude

    Slammed90Lude Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Location:
    milford, PA
    no, they are not all the same- there are OBD I and OBD II P72 ECU's-

    the GSR's that were made for 96 and after obviously had to be OBD II- for your swap you're looking for an OBD I P72 from a 94-95 OBD I gsr

    or you could run a chipped P28, but i don't know much about chipped ECU's- E is running that setup though, he could help you if interested
     
  3. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,036
    Likes Received:
    3,970
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    yes im running a chipped P28 ... but the ITR engine doesnt have secondaries to worry about ... im not sure if the P28 can deal with them or not
     
  4. SNEEZIN WRX

    SNEEZIN WRX Junior Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    thanx for the tech guys!!
     
  5. Slammed90Lude

    Slammed90Lude Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Location:
    milford, PA
    oh yeah, i forgot you weren't running a GSR- :doh:
     
  6. dohch22a4

    dohch22a4 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    In order to retain the IAB function, you must have a P72 ECU. If you use the P28, the butterflies will stay still and only let you use the short runners, resulting in a low-end power loss.
     
  7. 2lua

    2lua Junior Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    get you an obd1 72 ecu it will plug and play.
     
  8. BlackFrog

    BlackFrog Neighborhood Lush

    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Location:
    North Freakin' Idaho

    if you go this way, your going to have to run the wires for the knock sensor though, the Z6 doesnt have a knock sensor, so the P28 isnt looking for it.

    Another option, that i am considering for myslef, would be the P28, with a skunk or some other aftermarket intake manifold. no secondaries to worry about that, no knock sensor wires to run, just have to rechip it for redline and fuel delivery.

    -Chris
     
  9. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    or just take the secondaries out. it aint all that hard.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page