Double Clutching while drag racing?

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Status
Not open for further replies.

awitron

Ok i've been coming to the site for a couple months now and i've nerver posted anything, but i was reading the stuff about double clutching and they say that theres no such thing as double clutching while drag racing. i have a 95 civic coupe w/sohc vtec, cold air and short shifter pretty much stock. maybe im describing another racing technique but what is it when; and i've done this before, im racing i take off at about 32-3400 rpm at about 5400 rpm just tap the clutch rpm goes to 7000 keep it floored but rpm doesnt go higher till about another 1.5 seconds then shift to second while not letting go of the gas (my rpm goes to about 7600 rpm) then in second wait till rpm climb to about 56-5700 rpm then do the same. this doesnt have as strong an effect in 3rd 4th and 5th. i personally really dont like "double clutching" because i dont know if it works or not. i want to race a similar car as mine and race him with me "double clutching" and then not double clutching. then see if it actuall helps. or i just might go to a race strip and time myself.

my car shows the redline at 7200 but the limiter doesnt kick in till about 78-7900 i dont know if thats normal.

Sounds like you're forcing the clutch to start slipping, and power shifting.

Double clutching is when you clutch to take the car out of gear, let off, then reclutch to slide the tranny into the next gear.

BIG waste of time during a drag race.

double clutching is for DOWNSHIFTING, not upshifting. so unless you are racing from 5th to 1st gears, its pointless