1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Downpipe

Discussion in 'Forced Induction' started by 92civicb18b1, Nov 5, 2003.

  1. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    I decided to use my VW/Audi turbo, it looks like it's a t3 but I'm not sure, On the little green plate it says t3, but for the downpipe it only has 4 bolts, Does anyone know where I can get a downpipe for this?
     
  2. Seany-izzle

    Seany-izzle New Member

    Messages:
    7,738
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Location:
    In a fucking house.
    youll need one custom made, cuz depending on where your manifold sits the turbo.
     
  3. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    Ok I found the flange for it, thanks.. It's a T3/ TA34. O and how do I adjust the wastegate?
     
  4. calvin

    calvin Senior Member

    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Location:
    NETHERLANDS
    Custom make.
    Internal wastegate i think.
    Maybe u can use the stock downpipe
     
  5. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    So internal wastegates aren't adjustable, then how the fuck do I take it off, I am not going to run 6psi in an LS.
     
  6. Seany-izzle

    Seany-izzle New Member

    Messages:
    7,738
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Location:
    In a fucking house.
    you dont need to take it off. get a boost controller!!!!
     
  7. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    Ok, now I'm really lost, If i don't disconnect it in someway the internal wastegate will set the psi at 6 no matter what.right? So a boost controller will control that wastgate.right? What I'm sayin is if I don't disconnect it won't it still keep it at 6 psi with or without a boost controller.
     
  8. SolReaver

    SolReaver Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2002

    ok boost controllers 101

    1. Wastegates operate solely on a boost/vaccuum signal.

    2. If this signal is delayed at all, then it will delay the wastegate's opening.

    3. The time the wastegate opens regulates how much boost pressure is allowed.

    4. Boost controllers delay the time the wastegate receives its signal.

    4. (conclusion) If you delay the wastegate signal, you also alter the maximum boost pressure.

    Thus, install a boost controller and through spring pressure ( on mbc's) you are able to allow a certain maximum boost pressure.
     
  9. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    Ok, I get it now, Looked up on the internet and I can just make a manual one. But i will eventually get some type of electronic boost controller. Thanks
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page