1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DPFI to MPFI HELP!!

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EF' started by 91hatchyd16a6, Mar 17, 2008.

  1. 91hatchyd16a6

    91hatchyd16a6 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Location:
    Williamsport, PA
    well to start off i have a 91 civic hatch dx, bought a d16a6 zc from overseas, bolted on my d15 tranny, bought a wiring harness for it, got that all hooked up, the way all the writeups say, well heres the problem, it tries to start but will not whatsoever, also ecy throws code 10 which from what i understand is the iat senser(which is plugged in) and also from what i understand that wont make it not start, seems to me like its gettin too much fuel and maybe flooding the motor so it wont start? turn the key to the on pos. and you can hear the fuel pump constant. has anyone ever ran into these problems? can someone please help me out, this is my first real swap, all the other swaps i've done were the d15 motor and i didnt have to do any wiring.
     
  2. monotech909

    monotech909 Got V-tec?

    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Inland Empire
    sounds like a wiring problem. When doing a mpfi conversion its required that you rewire on the ecu side of the plugs.
     
  3. jlicrx

    jlicrx Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    are you using the DX engine harness that came in the car? - IAT sensor, code 10, you probably have the wrong connector plugged into it - should be a white 2-wire connector with red/yellow and green/white wires, not the white 2-wire connector with orange and black/yellow wires - that connector was for the Tandem Control Valve and you won't use it on the MPFI - still should start
     
  4. goose2

    goose2 New Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    swap ecu.if wireing is correct.
     
  5. wadocrx

    wadocrx honda builder by nature

    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    If the car was a dx you need to have the harness rebuilt to run the mpfi. There's various people who do this including Hasport. I know everyone that works there and they do good work. If you send them your dx harness and a good mpfi harness they can make you one good one.
     
  6. monotech909

    monotech909 Got V-tec?

    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Inland Empire
  7. hondadx

    hondadx New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    pasadena tx
    im in the same boat,,,if i try long enough it will start ,,but wont stay running
     
  8. D15Beater

    D15Beater HNFTuning

    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Concord N.C.
    As a owner of a Dx converted to MPFI...my suggestion to you guys that wanna swap is to swap out both the engine harness and under dash harness for a SI one. This eliminates any possible wiring problems. On the other hand my rewired multi port swap started rite away. Ive done it both ways and regardless to popular belief it takes just as much time to just swap out the harnesses. My prefered method....and while youre at it if you have a civic swap your dash out for a CRX one for that sportier feel...
     
  9. Jeef

    Jeef NO MA'AM Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    7,150
    Likes Received:
    294
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    Please list everything you have done to your car with the swap. Like what distributor you used, engine, the exact harness you used, what ecu, did you add an injector resistor box, etc.
     
  10. roninallout79

    roninallout79 Plan B

    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    GER friggin MANY
    I have done this swap. I swapped out the ecu harness along with the engine harness just to make any wiring problems go away. You also need the Si dizzy. Not a big deal. But I would suggest that you run the MSD cap and rotor with the external coil.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page