1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dpfi to mpfi swap problems

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by BoogieDown, Nov 30, 2004.

  1. BoogieDown

    BoogieDown Senior Member

    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Location:
    Tampa FLA
    ok i did the swap and now my injectors are not working. i have power to them i have fuel to them i have spark and timeing. i tested the injectors. are have 1.5-2.5 ohms. i have ground at main relay and at the ECU (A2) i can get it to start and run as long as i'm spraying ether in the TB.
    any ideas?

    PS does it matter what injector the red/black wires go to??
     
  2. darien234

    darien234 Senior Member

    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Yeah it does matter which wire, the black wires I think are grounds, the others are red, brown,blue, yellow on the injectors am I right. What motor and car do you have first of all obd0 or obd1.
     
  3. racintweek

    racintweek Senior Member

    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    the wires from the resistor can go to any injector
    are you using obd0 injectors?
     
  4. BoogieDown

    BoogieDown Senior Member

    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Location:
    Tampa FLA



    ok i see this post going more torwds electronics and ECUs.

    the injectors are OBD0 and their new. lastnight i put my old pm8 ecu in and it started right up. this is 100% proof that the ECU is bad right??? OR could i still be wireing. i have triple checked what i have done, short of going wire to wire checking for countinuity(sp) ==>when i pluged in my ECU and when i turn on the key the LED on the ECU blinks. BUT on the 2 Si ECUs it does not. what is the reason for this???

    i have 2 days left to finish this and i am burned out on this
     
  5. darien234

    darien234 Senior Member

    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004

    You are running a resitor box right, also does the hf have resistor box because that is what the pm8 comes from what ecu were you running before the conversion just curious because if it was a dual point i'm sure you were'nt running the pm8 should have been the pm5 is the car a dx.
     
  6. BoogieDown

    BoogieDown Senior Member

    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Location:
    Tampa FLA



    i got it fixed i hard wired the dizzy to the ECU and started up
     
  7. BoogieDown

    BoogieDown Senior Member

    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Location:
    Tampa FLA
    more problems with swap.... i switched ECUsPM6 to PM5 with the key off but batt hooked up. now the guages do not work. the trun signals do not work but hazards do, and some times the batt lite will come on after cranking for a bit with the PM8.
    checked the fuses and they are all good.

    the drive ability problem i have is when i'm at 1/4 throttle its like its hitting a revlimiter slowly and when i slowly give it gas it keeps that up then the RPMs take off. WTF is up with this car???? and i have code 20 the load dectector. that was on before i swaped ecus with the batt connected.

    i don't mean to beg but PLZ!!!!!!!! give me some help/advice
     
  8. asmallsol

    asmallsol Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,074
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Houghton/Livonia Michigan
    I think that this might get a little more attention in the wireing forum.
     
  9. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    eld is in the distributor.

    you said you hard wired it. chances are you fucked it up, and now you have a code for it. double check all your wiring again.
     
  10. BoogieDown

    BoogieDown Senior Member

    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Location:
    Tampa FLA




    how did i fuck it up ??? i just used the OE connectors and used wires from the ECU not from the harness. Know anything about the gauges and indicator lights not working after what i said above?
     
  11. BoogieDown

    BoogieDown Senior Member

    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Location:
    Tampa FLA
    guess no one knows. well i think its the integrated control unit. anyone ever hear of it??? it controlls a lot of things, and controlls the indicator lights. i'm going to see if i have power going in and comeing out and if no power comes out its bad. if i did fry it is this someing i can pick up at nappa? or dealer only??
     
  12. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    never heard of an icu. maybe its a 4th gen thing... i don't know.
     
  13. Nick7

    Nick7 Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003


    Yep.. ICU is plugged into underdash fusebox (it's a box like .. well.. box, and has one connector plugged into it - white one, pins in one row).
    You might try to swap it with some friend to see if that's the problem. It's easy - plug'n'play.
     
  14. BoogieDown

    BoogieDown Senior Member

    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Location:
    Tampa FLA



    well how do i test it? like i said above? no one that i know has one
     
  15. BoogieDown

    BoogieDown Senior Member

    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Location:
    Tampa FLA



    when i was pulling out the ICU i saw the #1 fuse was blown. i thought i check it but i replaced it turned the key on and the guages and indicator lights work. but when i turn the key off they stay one except for the CEL and the ECU still blinks code #14. they work now and the car hasn't burned down so at this point i'll take it.


    as for the cyl positon sensor code (#9) i swaped the wires around and the code did not come back but ran like crap. when i checked resistance at the wires off the dizzy i had 0.00ohms. shouldn't i have like 300-550ohms? :shrug:
     
  16. BoogieDown

    BoogieDown Senior Member

    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Location:
    Tampa FLA
  17. BoogieDown

    BoogieDown Senior Member

    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Location:
    Tampa FLA
  18. 69crx69

    69crx69 Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Location:
    Wa
    now the car runs right, but the idle is still jacked, right? 1500rpms, hesitates, then jumps up? if thats the case then i think i had the same problem.
     
  19. BoogieDown

    BoogieDown Senior Member

    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Location:
    Tampa FLA

    nope runs like crap and stalls
     
  20. BoogieDown

    BoogieDown Senior Member

    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Location:
    Tampa FLA
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page