Droid information needed.

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

invisibledemon

Bored
VIP
I'm an extreme noob to droid.
i recently bought a european version of the american motorola droid: the motorola milestone.

bought it because im on tmobile and the milestone runs on a sim card, unlike most good droid phones in the US.

it fits all my needs, wifi, music, etc.
so far, i love it.

but, it leaves me with a lot of questions in looking up shit about doids.

What is rooting?
why would you want to root?
what about unlocking? is that the same as rooting?

my phone is currently on android 2.1, they havnt released the 2.2 update for the milestone yet, whats the differences? advantages?

just the few that i can think of currently, anything else would be appreciated.

i have looked through other forums, but like most, the search function sucks and the threads i come across with people asking similar questions all have the same "duh, you should know this without asking" type of responses that i would expect from apple forums.

-Rooting is simply "Super User" or something like Admin on Windows.
-Modify and/or delete programs or make other changes that are locked(for instance, removing unwanted pre-installed software or running a different OS/kernel)
-Yes, though could also refer to unlocking radio "Security"

The Android website has a detailed list of changes. http://developer.android.com/sdk/android-2.2-highlights.html

rooting is similar to jail breaking. it allows you to root-access your phone. Odds are, you don't need to do this as the droid isn't really locked down like the iFail is. I';ve yet to run across anything I've wanted/needed that required it to be rooted.

unlocking usually refers to a phone being tied to a network, ie verizon. unloacked will work on any provider.