Drop out?

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

preluderjs

I'm a freshman at SDSU right now and I'm in the mechanical engineering program that is an extremely well respected program. They've built a electric-diesel hybrid that gets 80mpg and makes 240 whp. Look around and you can find it in an old issue of MotorTrend.
I was looking at motorcareers.com and it seemed like hardly any of the openings really required a mechancal engineering degree and I know it is early but it seems like a lot of the upcoming courses arent specific enough to cars. Now my question is should I look into dropping out of SDSU and look into getting some sort of degree at a trade school like UTI or something? I was also thinking about switching majors to some bullshit major so I appear "well rounded" and then going to a trade school later on. Or should I should I just stick with the ME program? I know that I want to work with cars bottom line but its not easy right now either in these classes.
Thanks for any replies, but please no stupid posts about me being a whiney kid or some shit like that. I'm just looking for those that have been in the same shoes or close too..... like I remember hearing Calesta has a degree. Thanks again.

You're a whiney kid who should get their degree so you have something to fall back on. Never settle for bare minimum. If you have that mentality, I don't really want to operate anything you design. Get my meaning?

Stick it out, The diploma will not only open more doors but higher paying salaries. Im kind of in the opposite situation as you. Out of high school I had no idea of what the hell I wanted to do, but cars were about my only topic of interest. I went to a two year auto body program and received an associates degree (woopie :roll: ) in that, and now im taking classes in hopes transferring to PSU for some sort of degree.
PS: IF anyone here goes to Penn State PM me, Ill be moving ther with my girlfriend in August.