1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD hard drive for tv? home theater question

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by 95b16coupe, Sep 23, 2010.

  1. 95b16coupe

    95b16coupe New Member

    Messages:
    6,538
    Likes Received:
    224
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    ct
    I want to have some sort of dvd hard drive or something that will hold my dvds and play dircetly to my tv. (yes i know a computer can do this) but i want something separate from my computer so i don't need my comp sitting around.

    i was also wondering if there is some sort of software that would get it to be like itunes cover flow or netflix cover flow.
     
  2. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,579
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
  3. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,579
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
  4. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    i use my computer and stream from the office to the 360 in the living room through Vuze
     
  5. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    You can use that western digital box with an external hard drive hooked up to it.

    Personally I just use a dedicated HTPC with a 2TB internal drive for DVD storage.
     
  6. 95b16coupe

    95b16coupe New Member

    Messages:
    6,538
    Likes Received:
    224
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    ct
    this looks like what i'm trying to do. do you have a software recommendation to operate this?
     
  7. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    If you are using windows, you can just use windows media center. It's built in to xp MCE, vista home premium and up, and windows 7. I use windows media center in windows 7. It's a really nice interface. You just have to point media center to the directory that has all your movies
     
  8. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,453
    Likes Received:
    2,116
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    look for a dlna player/tv with wireless, and you can stream directly from your computer or whatever right to your tv/etc. you just make a share like you would in windows explorer and then put all your movies/etc on it.
     
  9. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    :werd:

    Except I'm still looking for codecs that let Media Center play as smoothly as VLCplayer. VLC's output is way cleaner.
     
  10. 95b16coupe

    95b16coupe New Member

    Messages:
    6,538
    Likes Received:
    224
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    ct
    if i go this route, is it possible to store blu ray also? it's probably a HUGE file though.
     
  11. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Yup. You can crunch BluRays down to smaller MKV files without losing much quality though.
     
  12. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    yea and youll have to get some codecs so WMC can play the mkv files too. i dont believe its natively supported.

    you better have A LOT of HDD space for blu-ray. i looked into it, and the movie/GB ratio plus the time involved in ripping each blu-ray just wasnt worth it IMO. it can be done though. i just play blu-rays directly from the disc using the same computer and a blu-ray drive. it makes sense for me though seeing as i have like 300ish ripped DVDs and like 10 blu-rays lol.
     
  13. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Yeah mkv isn't natively supported.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page