1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

E85 Ethanol

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by Z6CRX, Apr 23, 2006.

  1. Z6CRX

    Z6CRX übber ɐɾuıu etarip

    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Anyone here have any luck/experiences/suggestions with running ethanol in their cars and what would be the highest recommended compression ratio on E85
     
  2. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    eww is all i can say...bad gas mileage...you get 25% or so worse gas mileage with ethanol than with gas, and your power takes a definite nose dive. The only advantage of E85 is moving your gas money to american farmers rather than OPEC.

    If thats important to you, go with E85...otherwise...stick with gas.
     
  3. driverunknown

    driverunknown Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,474
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    You forgot to mention that only cars that are built to run the stuff should. I"m pretty sure that ethanol is corrosive.
     
  4. Citizen_Insane

    Citizen_Insane Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    wow, both you guys are wrong.

    I did a little (very little) work with the Forumla SAE team up here on E85. From that I learned that yes, you will have to use more fuel (the a/f ratio of E85 is somehwere arround 9:1, unlike the 14.7:1 of gasoline.) The advantage of E85 is that you can run high compresson or high boost without fear of detonation. This will yeald more power than you would be able to get out of your car by using gasoline.

    Ethanol shouldn't corode the engine, I've seen lots of manufacturers using E85 with aluminum blocks. I think the main concern is in places like the fuel tank where the ethanol will just be sitting there. The only thing you'll definatly need to change over are the injectors, the fuel tank (need a bigger one, or get a fuel cell and make sure its anadized aluminum or another metal) and new fuel lines, pump, and possibly rail.
     
  5. MikeBergy

    MikeBergy Blah blah blah....

    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Central Coast, CALI
    Where do you get this stuff?
     
  6. Z6CRX

    Z6CRX übber ɐɾuıu etarip

    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Wow thats a good bit of information
    [​IMG] more than i thought
    I knew about the lower gas mileage. What about a sensor that i keep hearing about that would be needed?
     
  7. Citizen_Insane

    Citizen_Insane Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    Um...there you just surpassed my knowledge, sorry. I can't think why you would need a new sensor. You would DEFINATLY need to compeltely reprogram your ECU, but thats pretty easy with CROME or Uberdata.

    For our FSAE cars we run the exact same setup (Yamaha R6 600CC engine) for gas and ethanol and don't use any extra sensors. But then again we're running MOTEC and can do pretty much whatever we want. Hell, every sensor on the engine has been replaced with a custom one.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page