1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ebrake light on at high rmps!!!!!

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by PolkMomoInMYSi, Jul 24, 2005.

  1. PolkMomoInMYSi

    PolkMomoInMYSi Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    i'll start off by telling you that my gsr has the wrong gauage cluster in it... but i'm getting the right one from the guy i bought it from within the week. but sometimes when i get into high rpms my ebrake light comes on. it's not doing it when vtec hits because it's not at a set rpm it's just random. then sometimes it doesn't do it at all. any ideas?
     
  2. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    First hunches: Low brake fluid or bad alternator / alternator wiring...
     
  3. phyregod

    phyregod !!YTINASNI

    Messages:
    9,449
    Likes Received:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Hunch #1: Your switch for the e-brake isn't adjusted right, and the vibration from the high rpms are causing it to make contact.

    Hunch #2: A short in the wiring to your e-brake light. vibration causing contact..

    Wild ass hunch (#3) Your "wrong" cluster is wired incorrectly, and your oil pressure wires are wired to your e-brake light. Your oil pump is on the verge of failure and/or you are low on oil. At high rpms you are throwning a oil light that is acutally lighting up your ebrake light.

    Uber wild ass hunch (#4) a vtec grimlin is lost in your gauge cluster, and you are seeing the other grimlin's search lights.
     
  4. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    I like the wild ass hunches. :lmao:
     
  5. kevint427

    kevint427 Junior Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    extremely uber wild ass hunch - custom shift light! :D
     
  6. driverunknown

    driverunknown Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,474
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Open up your console where the e-brake is and hopefully you have some junk there that needs to be taken out.. I had the same problem, because the previous owner had coins and a name tag under the e-brake cables.
     
  7. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    or, the ecu is chipped, and it has been programemd to act as a shift light at high rpms.
     
  8. scottp11

    scottp11 The Seniorest Member....

    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Location:
    El Paso, TX now, originally from Fresno, CA
    I bet your damn brake fluid is low... When your car accelerates, the front end picks up, and forces the fluid into the back. I bet when you let off the gas, your light turns right off.

    If that isn't it, then I'd say that new cluster is wired in wrong.
     
  9. HatchSpeeD

    HatchSpeeD ...Hi...

    Messages:
    1,241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Location:
    Beantown


    That was my wild hunch :ph34r:
     
  10. PolkMomoInMYSi

    PolkMomoInMYSi Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    it does do it turn off when i let off the brake... and it also only does it in 1st and 2nd sometimes third so i'm gonna go with the brake fluid idea for now. it makes sense because 3 - 5th dont have enough power to tilt the car enough to make the fluid run? i'll let you know how it turns out
     
  11. phyregod

    phyregod !!YTINASNI

    Messages:
    9,449
    Likes Received:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Location:
    Central Texas
    You might want to bomb the car with grimlinicide... just for good measure.
     
  12. b204dr

    b204dr Senior Member

    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    Minnesota
    the switch is most likly loose i had that issue before -
     
  13. theodorcrx

    theodorcrx Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    maybe it's telling you to slow down a bit. :blink:
     
  14. Periculum

    Periculum Senior Member

    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Location:
    Martinez, GA
    Albiet I had the right gauge cluster in my rex, I had a prob with the door light coming on when I hit the brakes. Found out it was the way for the car to tell me the horn fuse was out. :shrug:
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page