1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ECU CEL

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by VTECPOWER, Jun 19, 2005.

  1. VTECPOWER

    VTECPOWER Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    Winchester, VA
    I need to know what these cel's are, the led light on the ecu blinks 2 long times then 4 short, also once I know which codes these are throwing i need to know how to fix them, engine is a b16a1 w/ a pw0 ecu and rywire engine harness, car starts idle's kinda rough.
     
  2. Estorvito

    Estorvito Soy Boricua

    Messages:
    2,036
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Location:
    Orlando FL

    24? HUH?
    Maybe The ICM(ignition Control Module)... :unsure:
     
  3. VTECPOWER

    VTECPOWER Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    Winchester, VA

    yeah i know, 24???? i thought that code didnt exist but it does blink twice for a long time, then 4 quick, i think ill call rywire tomarrow see if they can help. since i got the harness from them.
    Anyone have any other ideas?
     
  4. Estorvito

    Estorvito Soy Boricua

    Messages:
    2,036
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Location:
    Orlando FL
    Try another ECU.....
     
  5. VTECPOWER

    VTECPOWER Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    Winchester, VA
    Easier said than done, all i have is my crx dx ecu, and a obd2a civic ex ecu.
     
  6. VTECPOWER

    VTECPOWER Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    Winchester, VA
    Um....... yeah, so anyone got any ideas? like i said blinks 2 times long duration then 4 short, car does not go into vtec, i need to find out these codes and fix them.
     
  7. ripperbone

    ripperbone angry bear

    Messages:
    3,173
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    are you sure its 4 short blinks, cause I looked at my code list and didnt find a code 24.
    is there a pause in between the 2 long blinks and the 4 short blinks?
     
  8. VTECPOWER

    VTECPOWER Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    Winchester, VA

    yes, pause between the two long blinks also, so im not sure what it is.
     
  9. Estorvito

    Estorvito Soy Boricua

    Messages:
    2,036
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Location:
    Orlando FL
    wow.. THe only thing i can think of is the ECU man...
    I've asked a couple of guys here local and they have never heard of a 24 code.

    I dunno.....

    But Good luck though....
     
  10. VTECPOWER

    VTECPOWER Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    Winchester, VA
    Is there any way that the 2 long blinks are just like a sensor warning light or something? and then it being a code 4?
    I bought everything from hmo, should i just give them a call and ask for a new ecu?
     
  11. jdm2gen03

    jdm2gen03 Senior Member

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    could be a 10 code then a 14 code, jus my thought...... cuz i threw a 9 code then it puased and one long blink and 4 short for a 14 then pause 2 long blinks then pause an d 2 more long blinks and 2 short. so u might wanna check that.
    all in all i threw 9-14-20-22
     
  12. VTECPOWER

    VTECPOWER Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    Winchester, VA
    thats what i was thinking, maybe 2 codes as in a 10 and a 14, which are 10 = IAT Sensor (Intake Air Temperature) and 14 = IAC Valve (Idle Air Control).
     
  13. VTECPOWER

    VTECPOWER Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    Winchester, VA
    Would those codes effect vtec? i tried do "hit" vtec and it did not engage, i was up to temp, and i hooked up an oil pressure gauge and it read about 70psi when on the gas completely, sometimes the oil pressure is at about 40+ psi at idle. Which is high correct?
     
  14. jdm2gen03

    jdm2gen03 Senior Member

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    i think code 10 might not let u hit vtec.. i'm throwing code 14 and still hit vtec so u should look at gettin those fixed , most likely just faulty wiring.
     
  15. VTECPOWER

    VTECPOWER Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    Winchester, VA
    the car is in limp mode and rev limiter is at about 7500 rpm, wiring was rywire, so i guess ill keep trying to contact them.
     
  16. ripperbone

    ripperbone angry bear

    Messages:
    3,173
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    anytime your car goes into limp mode, vtec will not work.
    if your having a problem getting a hold of the guys at rywire go to their forum at www.norcalcrx.org they always check the forum at least once a day
     
  17. jdm2gen03

    jdm2gen03 Senior Member

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    yep limp mode will not allow vtec crossover. its weird i'm at the moment throwing 4 codes and the car still isnt in limp mode. but most of the codes i'm throwin involve wiring with my pigtail. so that prolly y.
     
  18. 90b16acivic

    90b16acivic Junior Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    if you dont mind me asking what is limp mode?
     
  19. VTECPOWER

    VTECPOWER Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    Winchester, VA

    engine doesnt rev as high, vtec doesnt work. because of cel's
     
  20. jdm2gen03

    jdm2gen03 Senior Member

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    limp mode is when the ecu sees a cel that could harm the engine so it lowers the red line and richens up the a/f ratio and makes some things not work like vtec.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page