1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ecu choices b16a

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by General Lee, Dec 8, 2008.

  1. General Lee

    General Lee New Member

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Location:
    B.C. Canada EH!
    I have a b16a from a 99'-00' civic SiR, in a canadian 00' Acura 1.6EL. when i bought the motor i had problems getting the obd2b ECU. I have the ecu now but people tell me that it is not as easily tuned as other ecu's. is this true? and if so is there anyway to swap an ecu that is easyer to tune?
     
  2. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    they are correct,you really cant tune obd2,you can go to www.ryire.com
    and get an obd2 to obd1 convrsion harness,then get an obd1 ecu,ave it chipped and tuned to your motor specs
     
  3. General Lee

    General Lee New Member

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Location:
    B.C. Canada EH!
    that sucks, i just spent like 190 bucks on a frogger ob2a to obd2b adapter. i was told that i couldnt run the 99' b16a ecu, and that i need the 00' b16a ecu because the 00' has additional sensors eg. crank sensor? so that not true?
     
  4. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    I've never heard anything like that. There's a difference between 96-98 OBD2 and 99+ OBD2, but I've never heard of any specific differences between the 99 and 00 Si ECUs...
     
  5. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    word
    96-98-obd2a
    99+-obd2b
    you can use the obd2a ecu on the obd2b motor,you just need te conversion harness

    Rywire - Online Store
     
  6. General Lee

    General Lee New Member

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Location:
    B.C. Canada EH!
    as for the differance in function between the two im not sure, but the two ecu's have differtant plugs [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  7. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    thats where the conversion harness comes into play... ;)
     
  8. General Lee

    General Lee New Member

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Location:
    B.C. Canada EH!
    so your saying that i should get an obd1 harness and ecu, so it will tunable, but in stock form, plus a few bolt ons, there is no proformance lost switching to the older system?
     
  9. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    nope.. only benefits
     
  10. General Lee

    General Lee New Member

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Location:
    B.C. Canada EH!
    oh was under the impression that the 99' had more sensors and would not run proper?
     
  11. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    it'll run fine w/ an obd1 ecu and conversion harness
     
  12. General Lee

    General Lee New Member

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Location:
    B.C. Canada EH!
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page