1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ecu code question

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EF' started by Doc_G, Jan 26, 2010.

  1. Doc_G

    Doc_G Rude, Lewd, usually Nude

    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham AL
    I have two posts for today, this being the more important one (imo) it shal be first.

    Back Story:

    My ef had a code 14, which due to my research is a faulty IAC. Picked a known good one up off a parts car (as well as a few other parts) and transplanted it onto my engine. Presto the gods smile apon me as it fixes the code.

    Current Problem:

    I now have a code 5, which again after dilligently searching (let it never be said I don't do my part) I discover this code to be MAP sensor error.

    I happen to have the other MAP sensor assy (little black clip with the MAP sensor and a few others on it) from the afore mentioned parts car. (if it helps it was a 1990 accord) I can not see any part numbers on either MAP sensor, can I just swap them out? The car I got it from had no engine in it, I just got the assy off the fire wall before the car was scrapped. I got the working IAC (again mentioned earlier) from the same car. The car ran with no code problems/issues before it was wrecked. Anyone out there be able to tell me if the MAP sensors are interchangable?
     
  2. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    you can use it. all obd0 honda maps are the same
     
  3. Doc_G

    Doc_G Rude, Lewd, usually Nude

    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham AL
    Ok, well now we've an interesting situation Honda lovers, now the blinking 5 code is gone, to be replaced w/a blinking 1. So now I need a new o2 sensor? Is this normal in any of you Honda faithful's experience?
     
  4. Doc_G

    Doc_G Rude, Lewd, usually Nude

    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham AL
    no answer? r I 2 Needy?
     
  5. EF4Life

    EF4Life New Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    If you have a B16a swap, you'll need to wire up a second O2 sensor, which could explain your O2 sensor code.
     
  6. Doc_G

    Doc_G Rude, Lewd, usually Nude

    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham AL
    its a d16a2 I believe. Further I believe its a factory unit since I can't see anyone swapping in an automatic on purpose. But thanks for the suggestion. I do know I only have 1 o2 sensor currently. I have no cat, and the o2 sensor is below the manifold but above the collector I believe.
     
  7. Doc_G

    Doc_G Rude, Lewd, usually Nude

    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham AL
    ::UPDATE:: I replaced the IAC, MAP sensor, and the o2 sensor. Poof no more codes and the car runs MUCH better.
     
  8. dacheat

    dacheat ..is grounded.

    Messages:
    4,216
    Likes Received:
    205
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Location:
    strongbadia
    sweet follow up on your thread - thanks! :)
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page