1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ECU for ZC??

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by madlinux, Mar 23, 2004.

  1. madlinux

    madlinux Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    I just had a second gen ZC installed into my civic, I heard from a friend that I should get a ecu for it, something like P06 because mine is a P05 and that is meant for the old lawnmower engine that was in it before not the new one.

    I wonder if it really matters though? I tried looking through the forums with search but nothing came up.
     
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    sohc vtec ? or dohc non-vtec?
     
  3. radnulb

    radnulb Senior Member

    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    Sinsinnaty, Ohio
    chip your P05 and use the JDM P29 tune from PGMFI. It is what honda of Japan intended to run your motor.
     
  4. madlinux

    madlinux Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    It is a SOHC non-vtec engine, it has ZC stamped on the block.

    radnulb said "chip your P05 and use the JDM P29 tune from PGMFI. It is what honda of Japan intended to run your motor. "

    I will check out that for sure, I want what is best for my car.
     
  5. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Isn't the P29 the DOHC ZC program? Since you're running the SOHC ZC non-VTEC, you might want to find a PM6 ECU and run that. The SOHC ZC and the D16A6 are identical except for the cam and the carburetion option.
     
  6. radnulb

    radnulb Senior Member

    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    Sinsinnaty, Ohio
    I missed that - good call Calesta.

    If you car is OBD0 use PR5 / PM6.
    If your car is OBD1 use P06 with a little more fuel.
     
  7. madlinux

    madlinux Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004

    When you say more fuel are you implying higher octne?
    My car is OBD-1 so I will be looking for the P06, from what I have read it seems that chipping the ecu is more for built up motors, would it be redundant to chip the P06 if all I have extra in the engine is header, exhaust, and throttle body?
     
  8. hybrid4

    hybrid4 Senior Member

    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Location:
    Nashville,TN
    Would the sohc zc injectors work with the pm6?
     
  9. radnulb

    radnulb Senior Member

    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    Sinsinnaty, Ohio
    A p06 will run the car just fine. A chip for the P06 with about 5% more fuel will probably run it better due to the increased displacement.

    As long as you don't mix and match P+H and saturaed injectors you're fine. P+H with resistor will run on both OBD1 + OBD0. Saturated without resistor box will run on both OBD0 and OBD1.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page