1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ecu Help!

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by rodzilla, Feb 5, 2003.

  1. rodzilla

    rodzilla Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    ok i got my engine (b16 sirII) from e bay. the guy who sold it to me (streetdragz) sent it to me with a PR3 Ecu. I sent him the money ($2300) expecting him to cover the shipping (won the auction for $2000) he keeps the extra $300 and sends it freight collect. Now upon other problems with the engine and him sending me the wrong stuff, i gave him negative feedback. he is quite upset about the whole deal and now is not sending me back the extra $300. Now here is where i need a ECU expert. he claims that the peticular PR3 he sent me was indeed an OBD 1 ecu. he claims he hooked it up to his 95 civic and it worked fine. i need to know if indeed that Honda made some PR3 ecu's that were OBD 1. he is claiming that since the ECU was indeed OBD1, he went out and actually "upgraded" the ecu to the p30. so in doing so, it cost him $350 upgrade fee and plus he charges a 35% restocking fee, so if anything, i owe him money. Please someone get back that knows all about these ECU's. i have already looked up the the pr3 on the reference and it shows that it was indeed a OBD 0 ECU. i need to know before i sue the shit out of his ass.
     
  2. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    pr3 is definately an obd 0 ecu. will NOT work with OBD 1 electronics.

    he is an asshole. you should sue him. he knows nothing.
     
  3. rodzilla

    rodzilla Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    so there is no way no how that Honda made a limited number of ecu's or a a rare PR3 Obd1 ECU? I do plan on sueing, but i need to do a little more research so it canhold up to a judge.
     
  4. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    take a picture of the place where you plug the harness into. i'll tell you for sure

    obd1 and obd0 line up differently.

    what are the block #'s on your engine??

    on the head, does it say pr3??

    pgm-fi on the top of the intake manifold...

    is there a MAP sensor on the throttle body??
     
  5. rodzilla

    rodzilla Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    i know the engine is a second gen B16. It does not have the pgm-fi on the top of the intake manifold, nor map sensor on throttle body. i was just asking because he is claiming that Honda made some Pr3 ecu's that were OBD1. he sent me the p30 and it hooked up fine works good.
     
  6. gtpilot

    gtpilot Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    The PR3 that came in 88-91 JDM B16A was an OBD0...

    The PR3 that came in 92-93 Integra RSi/XSi or JDM B16A SIR2 is OBD1...

    So, you could have the ECU you need...look at the pictures here - Hondata and compare the connectors to find out what you have.

    Kirk
     
  7. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    wait it doesn't have a MAP on the throttle body??
     
  8. rodzilla

    rodzilla Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    pills, it does not have a mounting place for the Map sensor, it has the vaccum line for the hose to hook up. Now Gt, he sent me the PR3-j51. i was back in december so i cannot remember what the connections looked like.
     
  9. gtpilot

    gtpilot Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Just to be clear on this, you tried to plug in this PR3 ECU and it would not plug into your harness, but the P30 did plug into your harness?

    Kirk
     
  10. rodzilla

    rodzilla Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    when i recieved the swap, i did not even try to plug in the ecu. i figured that would be the last thing i did, and did not want to mess with ripping up my footwell carpet and pluging it in. i looked it up on this site and it said it was OBD0, so i ran with that. Now he sent me the pictures of the ecu and it looks like it is an OBD1 ecu.
     
  11. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    must be an integra xsi then. that's what my engine is from :)
     
  12. AllMotorMonster

    AllMotorMonster Senior Member

    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    Inland Empire foo!
    Rod-

    Does the ecu look like this:

    [​IMG]


    Or like this:

    [​IMG]


    If it looks like the first one, it's OBD1. If not, it's OBD0.


    If you need a OBD1 P30 ecu. I have one available. You can also use a OBD1 P28, chipped to DOHC spec, I can do this also.


    Sorry to hear another hondafile got ripped off.
     
  13. rodzilla

    rodzilla Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    well the guy is into playing games with me...so i will play them back in court. as for what OBD, he sent me pics of the ecu (cause i have already returned it and he sent me a p30) and it is obd 1. i guess the post on the ecu reference is wrong in saying that the pr3-j51 is obd 0. just a word of advice for a newbie looking to buy a motor: go with a reputable company, even if it means you pay a little more. i know you can find some deals out there on ebay and shit, but the headaches you will get from it is not worth a couple hundred off the price. also stay away from streetdragz.com! the guy is a dick and a total ass. he got pissed off at me when i gave him negative feedback because he sent me an engine with a ruined crankshaft pulley (had to buy one from honda...$150=ouch), the cylinder had some water in it (he says from pressure washing), never came with the ac pump and he claims he had it packaged in there with the engine, ect... Trust me stay with someone reputable and you will be a whole lot happier insted of pissed off in court!
     
  14. AllMotorMonster

    AllMotorMonster Senior Member

    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    Inland Empire foo!

    Rod, the PR3 is the ECU type, and the J51 means Japanese, Auto trans, 1st software revision.

    I'm glad to hear you at least got the right ecu.
     
  15. rodzilla

    rodzilla Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002

    so it was an auto trans ecu?!?! :angry: damn him, i tried to tell him that but he insisted that it was a 5 speed! is there a link where it breaks down how to tell what ecu is what as far as what is auto and what is manuel?
     
  16. Havok

    Havok Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,827
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Florida
    if there is a 5 on the side of the ecu--like mine says P28-A52

    if the 5 is the 2nd to last number, u got urself an auto
     
  17. AllMotorMonster

    AllMotorMonster Senior Member

    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    Inland Empire foo!

    That is only one of the codes.

    37802 - The Honda code for engine computer

    PR3 - This is the actual ecu code

    The you have the last 3 digits.

    1st letter - A, C, J, L, etc..... All mean something.

    2nd number - 0 or 5, usually manual (0) or auto (5)

    3rd number - Firmware revision number 0,1,2 or 3.

    There are exceptions.

    a PR3-900 or 901 would also be an automatic.

    A PR3-000 would mean manual.

    So on, and so forth.....
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page