1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ECU Missing

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by NyQuiL_AcCoRD, Dec 30, 2004.

  1. NyQuiL_AcCoRD

    NyQuiL_AcCoRD Member

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Alright I'm planning to buy a 1998 Civic with a 1999 GSR swap, but the car was stolen. Later it was recovered with a few parts missing. Well, the thieves stole the ECU. Rather than unplugging the ECU from the wire harness, they decide to cut it. Well, I'm wonder if I can just buy a wire harness and plug it up? Or, do I need to splice wires to hook up the wire harness?

    So, the male-plugs are missing leaving only the wires.
     
  2. BoogieDown

    BoogieDown Senior Member

    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Location:
    Tampa FLA
    go to a junk yard and get the connectors and wire it back in and solider all the connections
     
  3. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State
    It'll be a bitch, but it can be done, wire by wire.

    Honda charges close to a thousand dollars just for the engine harness, so count that option out.
     
  4. cycloneb18c3

    cycloneb18c3 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Location:
    New Jersey
    get one from somebody that got a JDM engine and didnt use the harness. lately the engines my local shop have been getting have a complete wiring harness, everything from plugs on engine to ecu plugs. or go to the junkyard and cut what you need out.
     
  5. projekteg

    projekteg Senior Member

    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    it won't be hard, all the colors match up if you go cut the male plugs off another obd2a car, just a little time consuming. whoever stole the car was an idiot, it would be just as quick to unplug the ecu than to cut the wires, and no tools would be required.
     
  6. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State
    I just picture myself lying on the passenger floor, with shortened wires to work with. Butt connectors(or saturn, or what have you) would make a huge bundle, and soldering would be ridiculous.

    Can it be done, hell yes. Will it be done, maybe, but it will suck.
     
  7. MXDesa

    MXDesa Senior Member

    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Location:
    Queens, New York
    Yeah your best option would be to cut the end off aother similar car and just attach one by one. That harness is expensive and a headache to replace.
     
  8. garz

    garz Junior Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    sorry for the hijack

    but if you wire in a new ECU in from a scrapped vehicle - even if its the right type wont you have a problem with the immobiliser.

    reason i ask is i have an imported JDM engine complete with ECU and harness ready for an engine swap - but think even when its all wired up etc - it may not start due to the immobiliser.

    can anyone throw some light on this ?

    thanks

    garz
     
  9. 94RedSiGal

    94RedSiGal Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,147
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    You can disable the immobilizer in the ECU.
     
  10. hcivic.com

    hcivic.com Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta canada
    he can go to the dealer and have the imbolizer reprogramed
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page