1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ECU questions

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> BA-BB /CA-CD' started by smarty009, May 18, 2006.

  1. smarty009

    smarty009 Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,243
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Location:
    Warner Robins, GA
    ok...so i just finished the swap with a 96 H22a into my 97 accord...the only problem is...i have an automatic transmission...and they ECU that was sent to me only works on manual transmissions...and it seems near impossible for me to find the correct ECU for my engine to make everything work correctly...right now im riding around with my F22's ECU...it will allow me to get from point A to point B...but im not getting the power i would get if i had the correct ECU...do any of yall know of a good place to find an ECU that will work with my automatic transmission? i wish i had the money...i would just go ahead and do the tranny swap to manual...but i dont...so im kinda stuck here...any help is greatly appreciated...thanks in advance!
     
  2. mikeislord

    mikeislord Senior Member

    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Location:
    Piscataway, NJ
    Sell the ECU you got and buy a P13, P28, or P72. Just specify you want an auto ECU and you're good.
     
  3. smarty009

    smarty009 Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,243
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Location:
    Warner Robins, GA
    one question about the p13, p28, or p72...im not too knowledgeable when it comes to ecu...does it have to be specified as a 96 h22a ecu...or vtec...or whatever...or can i just do a plain out search for the p and number and even if it says civic si p28 for automatic tranny...then will it be ok for my car? sorry if this dont make sense...im still tryin to learn some stuff here...thanks again in advance
     
  4. smarty009

    smarty009 Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,243
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Location:
    Warner Robins, GA
  5. kyleirwin

    kyleirwin Retired OG

    Messages:
    2,420
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    Vegas
    your manual ecu can be converted to auto... what ecu came with your swap?
     
  6. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    oooor....he can get a P5M for an auto...96 = obd2....
     
  7. smarty009

    smarty009 Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,243
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Location:
    Warner Robins, GA
    well...ive heard the manual can be converted to auto...just needs a transmission control module right? but ive also heard that it would be better just to go ahead and get another ecu...

    as far as a P5M...i have no idea what that is...but let me go do some research...or maybe you can fill me in? thanks!
     
  8. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State
    You need an OBD 2 ECU for auto. P28 and P72 have built in tranny controls, and I've heard don't work properly with accords and preludes.

    Auto can be converted to manual, but not the other way around. I have two socketed P28's that I purchased to use in my Accord, just to find out that you can't use them in Automatic applications, even though they are auto ECUs.
     
  9. smarty009

    smarty009 Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,243
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Location:
    Warner Robins, GA
    now the only thing is...im having trouble finding an obd2 ecu for auto...

    would the p5m work on my 96 h22a...cuz ive only seen that it listed for a 97 h22a...

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/97-01-honda...sspagenameZWD1V

    keep in mind that i have my accord's automatic transmission still ...not a prelude automatic transmission...if that makes a difference?
     
  10. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State
    that one should work. The Accord and Prelude trannies are very similar. The Prelude auto tranny might have slightly shorter gears, firmer shift, and/or LSD, but they look and work the same.
     
  11. smarty009

    smarty009 Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,243
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Location:
    Warner Robins, GA
    thanks for the help man...ill see about getting that p5m...hope it works
     
  12. smarty009

    smarty009 Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,243
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Location:
    Warner Robins, GA
    well...now i am questioning the year of the engine...i had someone put the engine in for me...he told me it was a 96 h22a...welllll...i did some reading on the intranet...and found out that there are these little dials on the block and one of them can tell you the year of the engine...that there are 2 numbers in the dial split by an arrow...well...the two numbers are a 9 and a 4...so if this is true...that tells me my engine is a 94...what do any of you think? i know the VIN can also tell me the year...but i am not sure where that is located on the engine...

    anyways...now that i am unsure about my year...that messes up all the research ive done about what ecu i would need...cuz im thinking...if its a 94 engine...then that p5m prollie wouldnt work on it...and i would prollie need to go with a p13...hell...it even says p13 on the block right beside those dials i mentioned...amazing what you find when you actually look at the engine...lol...

    but yea...anymore help will be greatly appreciated
     
  13. accordguy

    accordguy Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    If you have a internal dizy then it a 92-96 h22 and if you have a external dizy it a 97-01 I believe.
     
  14. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    well if its wired as OBD2 then you have nothing to worry about...you can convert a 94 engine to OBD2 (with quite a bit of work). Check your cannon plugs (and make sure you dont have a conversion harness). If your OBD2, youre good to go on the P5M and staying auto.
     
  15. smarty009

    smarty009 Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,243
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Location:
    Warner Robins, GA
    ok...thanks for the help...i think im wired for obd2...but ill make sure...so if thats the case...then a p5m should just hook right up without a harness right?
     
  16. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    lol, without a conversion harness, yes :)
     
  17. smarty009

    smarty009 Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,243
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Location:
    Warner Robins, GA
    ok...i know im asking a lot of questions...but im still learning...and ive already learned A LOT from you people on this site...thank you so much...but i have another question...lol...

    i noticed that the p5m i have up there on that ebay auction is for california emmissions...since the L53 at the end of the part number stands for cali, auto, ecu program...

    do any of you know if this one has the immobilizer in it? ive heard bad things about having one with an immobilizer in it...and i just wanna know if it has one...am i right about immobilizers being bad? let me know...thanks!
     
  18. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    yes it will have an immobilizer on it...all P5Ms and P5Ps have them...gotta go to a dealer and get a programmed ignition cylinder.
     
  19. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State
    I did not know that. :)
     
  20. smarty009

    smarty009 Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,243
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Location:
    Warner Robins, GA
    now i just gotta figure out how much it would be to get a programmed ignition cylinder...lol...would it be worth it to go that route or just go with a p13 and conversion harness
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page