1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ecu swap

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by 96gsr_slut, Apr 3, 2007.

  1. 96gsr_slut

    96gsr_slut New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    i have swapped out my stock p72 to a j-spec gsr ecu it seems to have more power and vtec kicks in a little bit sooner...but the new ecu has a govenor and shuts the car down at 128mph:( is there any way i can bi pass this??? please help
     
  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    yea just chip it
     
  3. 96gsr_slut

    96gsr_slut New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    wear can i find this chip and how much would it run me??
     
  4. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    well if you dont have a local shop im sure ebay has them, but im realy not sure because i have a local shop that has them, but there not that high
     
  5. 96gsr_slut

    96gsr_slut New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    could you let me know what kind of chip i need so i can buy it off of ebay...cuz i dont have any local shops
     
  6. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    let me go look, you have a p72 right ?
     
  7. 96gsr_slut

    96gsr_slut New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    i cant remember the excact #s but it is from a japan gsr more than likely a p72
     
  8. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
  9. 96gsr_slut

    96gsr_slut New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    i like that but the only problem is that i have a 96 gsr and its obd 2 not 1
     
  10. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    uggh that is a problem ill look some more
     
  11. 96gsr_slut

    96gsr_slut New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
  12. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    obd2 ecus cannot be chipped (easily).

    your best bet is to run an obd2a->1 conversion harness and get a usdm p72 obd1 ecu. That can be easily socketed.

    And stay away from from generic programs like that "mugen" chip.

    you will lose power with it, because it will make you run stupid rich.... like 9:1 AFR's.

    best bet is to see a local tuner and have him build you a custom program with a street tune and wide band in the car.
     
  13. lewellgd

    lewellgd 92CivicHatchCxBORNINCALI

    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Yep

    DO NOT USE GENERIC AND DO NOT EVEN TRY TO RUN UR CAR TO 10k i can gurantee it will spit a rod or crack a piston. The best ive found is skunk2.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page