1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ecu turbo tuning

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by crxpower24, Apr 9, 2012.

  1. crxpower24

    crxpower24 Member

    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    hello im geting ready to boost my d15b7 n ppl keep telling me dat i need to tune my ecu wat do they mean by dat or how to do it do i jst put a aftermarket chip from ebay or take to a shop can some body help me
     
  2. 99sidude

    99sidude Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    3,707
    Likes Received:
    170
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    You need something like Hondata or Crome, and someone with a dyno and tuning experience. A generic chip will cause you to blow your engine.
     
  3. crxpower24

    crxpower24 Member

    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    can dey jst tune da ecu or i have to buy a hondata
     
  4. adecorzo

    adecorzo TronicsClub.com

    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    yes i would like that too can they just use chrome on the stock ecu or what?
     
  5. Fernpatch

    Fernpatch Member

    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Bellingham,WA
    Yes and no, You can tune a factory ecu with chrome, uberdata, neptune etc. Before you can tune it you need to have the ecu modified with a socket and a re-writable eeprom chip. Than you can flash new maps on the new chip to your hearts content assuming you have a chip burner or take it to someone who does.
     
  6. |Chaz|

    |Chaz| Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    6,125
    Likes Received:
    253
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Washington
    I'd just buy a chip off of ebay, it'll be good for at least 400hp. You won't even have to build your motor.
     
  7. crxpower24

    crxpower24 Member

    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    so can i just buy 1 of does $20 chips on ebay cuz im only gona run 5psi
     
  8. |Chaz|

    |Chaz| Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    6,125
    Likes Received:
    253
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Washington
    Yup, that'll be exactly what you need.
     
  9. Fernpatch

    Fernpatch Member

    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Bellingham,WA
    This is something that I would not do. Any chip you buy on most websites will be a base map at best. They are never a final solution IMO. I would recommend checking around your local area and see if there are any tuners that can actually burn a chip for YOUR car instead of buying a cheap GENERIC unit from ebay.
     
  10. |Chaz|

    |Chaz| Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    6,125
    Likes Received:
    253
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Washington
    Apparently you missed the sarcasm.
     
  11. Fernpatch

    Fernpatch Member

    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Bellingham,WA
    Yes and no, I knew you were being sarcastic but I didn't know if crxpower24 would know that you were trying to be funny. I am also trying to look out for future noobs who may stumble across this thread and take your last post very seriously. My apologies if I stepped on your toes in any way.
     
  12. |Chaz|

    |Chaz| Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    6,125
    Likes Received:
    253
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Washington
    No worries, I was just being an asshole anyways.
     
  13. SpoonMotorSports

    SpoonMotorSports New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Location:
    peshawar Pakistan
    You need crome
    27c256 eprom chip
    and a custom tune
    btw one of my frnds did a 5psi b16a with only a fpr and larger 440cc injectors on stock ecu - it would only run on 92octane otherwise it would knock real bad on 87octane
    so 5psi and a so so basemap will work just fine

    but if you really want reliability then head for a local tuner and let him do things his way
     
  14. thenoxus1

    thenoxus1 Quick-Spool Racing LLC

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Location:
    MD and PA
    Basemaps are good to get to a tuner and that's all..

    They don't account for your AFR at all. If you modify any engine besides a basic I/H?E you'll want a tune. PM me if you need Hondata units.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page