1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ECU's

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by Mazda's Supra, Feb 23, 2006.

  1. Mazda's Supra

    Mazda's Supra Junior Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    I have a cx now3 and I'm doing an Si swap and was wondering if the cx ecu will work or if I need an Si ecu? If it won't work will a dx ecu work? I know vtec has to be wired but other wise what's the diff?
     
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    you need the si ecu if you want it to run correctly.
     
  3. Mazda's Supra

    Mazda's Supra Junior Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    yeh i figured but wasn't sure...thanks for the quick reply
     
  4. Z6CRX

    Z6CRX übber ɐɾuıu etarip

    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    it will run, but you'll get codes for vtec and i think it will run lean.
    Also if the "Si" swap is a b series motor, you'll also get a code for the knock sensor
     
  5. B16RacerN2NR

    B16RacerN2NR Working Hard VIP

    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Location:
    Moving back West...
    if the ecu doesn't look for vtec or knock in the first place, then you can't throw a check engine for either code. Just run the Si ECU or one from an EX, and wire up the Vtec.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page