Engine Idle after mod

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

SycoMike

Newbie here, but soon to be frequent visitor.

I have a 93 del Sol with a GSR B18C1 engine swap.

Last night we installed a Skunk 2 intake manifold along with a fuel rail.

Problem: With the idle sensor plugged in the idle is uncontrollable (4000-6000).
Unplugged, and the idle has the beat of a bad base (up & down).

It's been recommended that I buy a new throttle body now. Not a problem, but I'd rather not spend the $$$ if there is something I over-looked.

Any thoughts appreciated!!!!

-Mike

sounds like you got a leak.. have the car running and spray carb cleaner around the base of the intake manifold and anything else on the manifold that has a gasket... you'll find your leak that way

The gasket between the new intake manifold and the block was in pretty bad shape. I am sure it leaks. Would this cause this problem?

I went to Autozone and ordered a new gasket.
I know I should have done that right from the start, but as my dad says, I'm always in too big of a hurry to do it right.

Thanks all for your help!!!!!!!

-Mike

wow...

you could also invest in the hondata headshield intake manifold gasket

datalogging proved that intake temps were less during everyday driving... but try making a pass at a dragstrip, then letting your car sit... still 130+ degrees..

but if you've got some other things done, and you need to take off the intake manifold.. might as well do it... maybe take the head off and get it milled while you're at it