1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Engine Light

Discussion in 'Integra' started by makemagick, May 31, 2012.

  1. makemagick

    makemagick Member

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Uh, feels kinda noob to post another thread while my other one is right below it but...What are some common symptoms for an engine check light? my swap was obd jdm gsr into 97 obd2a LS, i was wondering if one has less sensors than the other? i just wanna hear some common symptoms b4 i go to the shop and check the ecu for it :/
     
  2. makemagick

    makemagick Member

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    obd1 jdm gsr*
     
  3. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,417
    Likes Received:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    The OBD1 motor is in the OBD2 car now?

    What ECU?

    Did you wire in VTEC to the ECU? Knock sensor wired? IAB's wired? (LS integra has none of these)
     
  4. |Chaz|

    |Chaz| Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    6,125
    Likes Received:
    253
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Washington
    Why don't you pull the codes and see which ones its throwing...?
     
  5. Matts96HB

    Matts96HB . Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    6,483
    Likes Received:
    390
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Paperclip! NO need to go to a shop to have the codes pulled. Just jump the connector and count the flashes.
     
  6. Marsh

    Marsh Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    It's an obd2 Chassis. I think it's need to be checked from the DLC. But, I haven't ever owned an obd2 car so idk? CHECK the CEL from the DLC, also findout what ecu you have.
     
  7. makemagick

    makemagick Member

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    yes everything is wired, we checked it over couple of times, but the weird thing i noticed, it doesnt come on straight away after like 60 km/h I'd say

    PS and its OBD1 comp with obd2a to obd1 jumpers
     
  8. Marsh

    Marsh Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Hope you have a good plan on how to pass Emissions;)
     
  9. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,417
    Likes Received:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    Well....make an opportunity out of the situation. Be ready to pull over and check the code(s) after it pops on.

    Chances are....its in your wiring. Or its a bad sensor or something.

    Some states are so easy. Now, California.......no way.
     
  10. Marsh

    Marsh Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Well first off the DLC is DEAD, so depending on were he lives, Passing Emissions GL. Look up under the Glove Box/possibly behind the passenger side Kick Panel for a 2 pin connector. Jump with a paper clip. Count the Flashes. Long Flash=10 Short Flash=1. It spits out codes in 3's. GOOGLE IT!
    [​IMG]
    If this is even possible on obd2 cars?
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2012
  11. makemagick

    makemagick Member

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Lol luckely b4 i bought the shell the guy did the emissions and im in t.o canada ill try the pin trick i guess hopefully it works with obd2 thanks
     
  12. |Chaz|

    |Chaz| Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    6,125
    Likes Received:
    253
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Washington
    I'm pretty sure it does but let us know if it does.
     
  13. makemagick

    makemagick Member

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    How come you said that though? :/ i dont see nothing wrong with a gsr swap, or is it becuz its jdm?

    PS. Didnt jump it yet due to the light not coming on, well i didnt drive it much today but yeah :/ ill keep you guys posted though
     
  14. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,036
    Likes Received:
    3,970
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    nothing wrong with doing a GSR Swap

    simply put, the issue is that its an OBD-1 engine in an OBD-2 car running on an OBD-1 ECU

    if you have to go through emissions OBD-2 cars generally just get plugged in to a scanner... the scanner can not speak with an OBD-1 ECU... so you will generally fail instantly
    and if you try to run an OBD-1 engine off an OBD-2 ECU without adding all of the OBD-2 sensors you will throw codes all over the place, and again fail instantly

    (the scanner also can not speak with JDM ECUs)



    potentially more issues involved depending on where you live
     
  15. makemagick

    makemagick Member

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Umm so the codes were 20 (Electronic Load detector, which i heard happens to alot of swaps) and 23 (Knock Sensor) because supposedly obd2a ls models dont have the knock sensor? and obd1 motor does.

    Even if I chip it? I've been told if i chip most likely the engine codes will dissapear
     
  16. makemagick

    makemagick Member

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    ^ err the engine light will dissapear, which will fix the codes?
     
  17. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,417
    Likes Received:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    No LS has a knock sensor. Hopefully you have the sensor attached to the motor and the electrical plug. Its below the intake manifold near the oil filter. It has a line to the ECU and a ground that I attached to the harness ground by thermo (when I did a B-series VTEC swap). Your jumper harness (if it had pigtail lines for VTEC) should have a line ready for the knock sensor. It's a single wire. Or, you may need to wire it directly and would need a donor metal pin with a pigtail to make it work. Knock sensor will come on after a while and/or when you get on it. ECU will reset when you turn it off and the cycle starts over.

    Check to make sure all grounds are sufficient and/or tight.
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2012
  18. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,036
    Likes Received:
    3,970
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT

    sure you can chip your OBD-1 ECU and get the engine running correctly... but it still will not help you pass emissions if they plug your car in for the scanner test

    if its just a sniffer test then those are easy (http://hondaswap.com/members-lounge/e-vs-emissions-501184/)

    but for the plug in test, the scanner can not talk to an OBD-1 ECU (the scanner also can not talk to a JDM ECU )... and in most states if your ECU will not talk to the scanner, they fail you
    (some will put you on the sniffer, but its not common)

    and if you have to go on the scanner, you cant try just hooking up an OBD-2 ECU to get through emissions, because unless you put all of the OBD-2 sensors on the OBD-1 engine it will throw codes and you will fail


    this all depends on your location and how they run their emissions testing (if they have it where you are)
     
  19. Marsh

    Marsh Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Look at this Pinout, then check out your Chassis Harness and your Jumper.
    Your Knock Sensor Locations are Circled Red.
    [​IMG]
    That obd2a would be the same location on an obd2a LS. If it's blank on your Chassis Harness, then it would be simple to wire it into C3 on your obd1 connector side.
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2012
  20. Marsh

    Marsh Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Electronic Load Detector, would have to be MAP Sensor issues. The Map Sensor is what measures the engines LOAD.
    I also agree w/ E solsi, Ultimately your SCREWED, when it comes to Emissions next year(KeeP ThaT in MinD) You really need an obd2 ecu. The Tech may work with you on the VIN issue (the Emissions Equipment, refrences the VIN from the ECU-that is suppose to match the VIN on the Chassis). BUT, if you know a cool Technician he can change that.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page