1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

engine load detector? HELP!

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by 92tegGP, Aug 19, 2008.

  1. 92tegGP

    92tegGP The Slut

    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Location:
    North Jackson, Ohio
    Ok so I built my motor over the past few months and am running an Ls Vtec. I am throwing code 20 engine load detector and cant figure it out to save my life. I have about 625 miles on the motor and it’s all running fine besides the fact that I am throwing this code and I want it gone so I can crack some Vtec! Can someone please help or point my in the right direction.

    It is a 1992 Acura Integra… Thanks
     
  2. newb

    newb phresh VIP

    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    179
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Backwoods Northwest
    <---In for the answer.
     
  3. caboose

    caboose USDM to the bone

    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, MI
    wtf?
     
  4. newb

    newb phresh VIP

    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    179
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Backwoods Northwest
    What dont you understand? Its pretty self explanitory. I dont have the answer, but I want to know what it is. I posted and that subscribed me to the thread, and bumped the thread to maybe help him get his answer. Any other questions?
     
  5. caboose

    caboose USDM to the bone

    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, MI
    I thought you were trying to give information
     
  6. newb

    newb phresh VIP

    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    179
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Backwoods Northwest
    Not this time, but Id like to know the answer to his question as well. :)
     
  7. caboose

    caboose USDM to the bone

    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, MI
  8. newb

    newb phresh VIP

    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    179
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Backwoods Northwest
    To each his own. Do what ever you want and Ill do the same.
     
  9. caboose

    caboose USDM to the bone

    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Location:
    Hamilton, MI
    +1
     
  10. scottp11

    scottp11 The Seniorest Member....

    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Location:
    El Paso, TX now, originally from Fresno, CA
    If someone knows, I'd like to know also. I asked this same question in another thread for a 93 integra. No answers there either...

    I read somewhere that it could be a grounded circuit or crossed wire in the ECU wiring.
     
  11. t3t4delsol

    t3t4delsol New Member

    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    York, Pa
    your making a bad connection some where, Ive heard of people replacing the under the hood fusebox to fix this problem, others it hasn't done anything. Good luck, I would check every connection on the car, something is loose or isnt grounded that great
     
  12. newb

    newb phresh VIP

    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    179
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Backwoods Northwest
    What does the load detector look for exactly?
     
  13. t3t4delsol

    t3t4delsol New Member

    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    York, Pa
    it looks for to low or to high of voltage, also inconsistances in voltage
     
  14. newb

    newb phresh VIP

    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    179
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Backwoods Northwest
    Ahh, gotcha. Thanks.
     
  15. jlicrx

    jlicrx Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    9 times out of 10, code 20 (electric load detector) is caused by a bad or failing alternator - code shows up quite often when aftermarket alternator like ones from Autozone, Checker, etc. are installed
     
  16. 97hatch

    97hatch ?

    Messages:
    1,695
    Likes Received:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Location:
    Anderson IN
    i had fried a alternator from my massive system back in the day replace the alt fuse box and traced lots of wires never have figured out what i f***** up it wont throw a cel so i just ignore it
     
  17. 92tegGP

    92tegGP The Slut

    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Location:
    North Jackson, Ohio
    i checked a bunch of shit today and still its throwing the code. im going to be back at it again tomarrow and we'll see what happens.. ill keep you posted to if i figure anything out and let me know if u do to thanks
     
  18. scottp11

    scottp11 The Seniorest Member....

    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Location:
    El Paso, TX now, originally from Fresno, CA
    Haynes manual says: "The ELD system detects excess amperage draw (load) on the electical circuits that govern the headlights, fuel injection, charging system, etc. The prime symptom of an electrical overload is a driveability problem, usually occuring when the engine is idling."
     
  19. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    Wow I can't believe I missed this huge discussion lol. I gotcha ;)

    So the ELD is the Electrical Load Detector, you guys stated that. It's function is to monitor the electrical load system components are putting on the charging system. When there is low voltage, or mal-communication with the ECU it will set a trouble code.

    You can try resetting the ECU by removing the positive terminal of the battery for a few minutes. If that doesn't work, check the voltage between the ELD 3P connector (located on the bottom of the underhood fuse box), wire 3 (green/red) and the chassis. It should read approximatly 4.5v. If there is not, check for a short in the wiring. If there is, replace the ELD. If there is no short, you have a faulty ECU.

    And;
    The ELD is an integral part of the fuse box and thus cannot be removed. It can only be replaced by replacing the entire underhood fuse box.

    Let me know what's up!

    :D
     
  20. scottp11

    scottp11 The Seniorest Member....

    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Location:
    El Paso, TX now, originally from Fresno, CA
    Thats almost word for word, what it says in the haynes...
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page