Engine Rebuild problems HELP PLEASE!!!

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

goldenteg

Hi, Im a noob and I recently rebuilt my b17 motor. All I did was just replace the piston rings, bearings and a couple of gaskets. It wasn't much I just wanted to clean the engine of all carbon deposits and learn more about my integra. However Now I finished putting back the entire engine and its giving me some problems. Whenever I try to start the car the engine takes a while to start up and when it does it idles so crazy. The motor begins to vibrate and it its obvious that theres a problem. The engine sounds like its about to turn off every other second. The idle speed stays constant sometimes at 800 and other times almost at zero. But if I move the distributor sometimes it does not turn on at all. I also noticed that there seems to be a little faint ringing noise. I also noticed sometimes when the engine is turned off the cam gears slow down and and then spin the other way about 180 degrees. I can see the cams because the previous owner has the cut off the valve cover for the adjustable cam gears. I think the problem is that the engine seems to be knocking. what really worried me was how the cams stopped and then spun the opposite way. If any one can help I would really appreciate it.

Oh yeah before I decided to rebuild the motor the car would sometimes fail to start and whenever I would let go of the gas the idle would go to practically zero and once the car turned off when I stopped at a red light. I had to open the throttle more to keep it from turning off.

Well when I installed the timing belt both cams where pointing up and each mark was exact even the one for the crank. Everythin seems to be exact I dont understand.