Engine sounds weird and Exhaust is Loud!

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Jimmykaboots

I have a 1993 Del Sol B16 where I recently changed the intake and exhaust manifold. With the exhaust manifold, the pace one I put one didn't have anywhere to put the oxygen sensor so I disconnected the lower oxygen sensor that goes normally between the downpipe and the cat convertor. It sounds very irregular and very obnoxiously loud. Does this sound normal for this kind of engine? Does the o2 sensor have anything to do with it? Is that black smoke coming out oil burning or soot from not running the engine in a few months? Thanks for reading everyone and I appreciate any advice, I'm pretty new to working on cars.

[VIDEO]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R_RGMCjUWi0&feature=youtu.be[/VIDEO]
[VIDEO]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rP-7U14lqMc&feature=youtu.be[/VIDEO]

So......I will be an ass and ASSume that the car was running great before you changed the intake pipe and put a header on it. The black smoke is (most likely) because you don't have the O2 sensor hooked up. It adjust air/fuel ratio and you are dumping too much gas into the cylinders.

Also......the MOST Important thing was not stated by you.....Is there ANY engine codes?

The idle sounds like it is missing. Did the spark plug wires get switched?

Do you have some sort of manual for this chassis?

Its an original Del Sol VTEC with a B16A3?

You are correct good sir, when I bought the car it came with a broken oem downpipe where the bottom of the downpipe was pressed in very far because of him bottoming out, thus the exhaust was also very loud so I went to the junkyard and found an acura integra exhaust manifold that fit and bought a pace downpipe and installed that. To my surprise, there was no where to put in an 02 sensor. How can I put an 02 sensor in?