1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

engine swap - wiring

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by inovermyhead, Feb 16, 2010.

  1. inovermyhead

    inovermyhead New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    so my nephew bit off more than he can chew i think.

    he has a 94 civic dx ej1

    and he got a d15b engine (which he says he thinks was from a 99, but then i heard they stopped using it in 95...)

    anyway the new engine is VTEC. The wires were cut, which means no harness.

    So we need to buy a harness. Or do we need to customize something?

    He has the harness original to his car, but of course it doesn't work as is with a vtec.

    Can anyone help guide us in the right direction?

    :confused:
     
  2. 99sidude

    99sidude Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    3,707
    Likes Received:
    170
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    You can use the harness from the stock motor!!! All you need is the ecu for the d15b and run the 3 wires for vtec from the vtec solenoid to the correct pins on the ecu. That info can be found here Technical Articles and Reference - HondaSwap Forums
     
  3. jdmpapa86

    jdmpapa86 New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    u cant use the harness from the 99 cause its obd2 u need an obd1 harness
     
  4. jdmpapa86

    jdmpapa86 New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    unless u get an ob1 to ob2 contector
     
  5. inovermyhead

    inovermyhead New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    ECU question

    Follow up:

    He is under the impression that he doesn't HAVE TO get a vtec ecu, but he won't benefit from the vtec without it. Is that true? If so, can he use just the stock harness to the non-vtec ecu for now and upgrade later?

    Also, he, who likes to get in even deeper, wants to know if he can use a performance ecu(AEM)?

    I think he should just get the D15B ECU & get the VTEC harness since it is only $100 and he probably doesn't know how to wire from the solenoid to the ECU.

    Thanks.
     
  6. suspendedHatch

    suspendedHatch audio/security

    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Yes you can use a non VTEC ECU and not have VTEC.

    I wouldn't go near an aftermarket ECU if you're having troubles with simple wiring of VTEC. Wiring VTEC is extremely simple and a quick search will give you everything you need. Don't waste $100.

    You need to figure out what motor you have. JDM motors are marked cryptically. "D15B" can be any number of motors from 88-00. If you take a pic of the intake manifold, we can identify it for you. If it's an OBD2 motor I suggest you sell it and get an OBD1. Besides the hassles of converting to OBD2, there are other issues with the throttle cable and vacuum lines etc.
     
  7. haraEK

    haraEK New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    can someone help me with this

    I have a 98 honda civic Ek With a d15b motor and i need a harness for it. Does anyone have or know someone that is selling one? Im looking for a 98 honda civic ex 5speed harness.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page