Engine swap

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Sc07t

I have an 86 integra 5dr (DA1) UK model with a measly 1.5 carb engine producing 89bhp (more like 20bhp) and was intending to swap it for b18 type r or h22a. im new to engine swap and would like some advise as its hard to find info about the gen1 teg swaps as it seems to be only 91+. i would perfer the h22a as its cheaper to buy but more of a pain in the ass to fit also because mines a carb i would need to add a fuel pump ect. Any advise would be a help.. what parts would i need, chassis bracing ect. looking to turbo it at a later date so if theres any other engines that are a better fit let me know. thanx

i would go with a b series engine over the H22. H series are heavy for such a small car. you would have alot less fitment problems with a b series. i would get a GSR motor and just put ITR valvetrain and cams in and save yourself alot of money. IMO b series is alot more practical.

good idea can anyone tell me what parts i need as im new to this and need to do it over a weekend as i use the car for traveling to work and if im missing parts im stuffed lol

good idea can anyone tell me what parts i need as im new to this and need to do it over a weekend as i use the car for traveling to work and if im missing parts im stuffed lol
a B-series engine swap in that car is a big job to try to do over the weekend - you will need the complete fuel system (tank, pump, lines,etc.) from a fuel injected 86-89 Integra - you will also need to swap out most of the wiring from the fuel injected car - you will need a mount kit, modified shift linkage and custom axles - use the B-series cable clutch transmission if possible (a lot easier) - you will need to do some exhaust work - if it were mine, i would swap larger torsion bars onto it to handle the extra weight (about 100 pounds) of the B-series engine and transmission

here are Hasport instructions for the swap: