Engine Won't Start

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

porkfried83

I have just finished putting a D16z6 in my 95 Civic DX. But now I can't get it to start. It sputters like it wants to turn over. And I'm assuming I have done everything correct. So I checked the ECU to see what it was throwing for codes. And this is what I got/

Code 19- Lock-Up Control Solenoid
Code 20- Electronic Load Detector (ELD)
Code 21- Variable Valve Timing And Valve Lift Solenoid
Code 22- Variable Valve Timing And Control Pressure Switch

Would these keep my engine from starting?

Does anybody have any idea how to fix these problems. I would appreciate any help I can get, I don't know to much about how the vtec system!

I think it is throwing a code 19 and I have a 5 speed. And I figured it out, I don't think I have a (ELD) at least not in my fuse box. And I'm a bone head. I have the vtec wiring harness but I still need to wire it into the ECU. I'm new at this. hahaha. I have already started to wire it in. I have a bigger problem now. I did a compression check and it wasn't good at all. Number 1 Cylinder has 180psi #2-60psi #3-135 #4-135. The standard is 184psi and the Minimum is 135psi. Does anybody know what I need to do a leak down test? Hopefully its not the rings cause I don't feel like taking the engine out for the second time. I know my car is just a big anchor right now. I'm just gonna laugh about it, it makes me feel better! lol. Oh ya I did replace the head gasket without checking to see if it was warped or not. Can you put a head gasket on upside down?

yes you can put a headgasket on upside down, you have ass loads of oil leakage too ive seen it happen, so where are you losing compression?