1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ETA for coilover shock replacement

Discussion in 'Wheels / Suspension / Tires / Brakes' started by MadEgo, Apr 14, 2004.

  1. MadEgo

    MadEgo Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    What is the average time for a novice mechanic to install illuminas and coil overs? Have any good tips? We have a open shop and all tools available to do it at our disposal.
     
  2. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Couple hours, maybe.
     
  3. asmallsol

    asmallsol Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,074
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Houghton/Livonia Michigan
    depends on the shape of the bolts. If there is some rust and they snap, good luck. I know Experienced shops WITH air tools that took over 4 hours because of the bolts were so screwed. This weekend, I actually redid my suspension to clean my teins from the winter salt, and replace a screwed shock mount, and since all the bolts were in pretty good condition, I spent about an hour on them. I swear my front swaybar took longer.
     
  4. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    coilovers are easy, cuz you don't need a psring compressor 98% of the time.
    30 min a corner tops for a beginner, maybe more for the first one.
    grab an after noon and a 6 pack :)
     
  5. MadEgo

    MadEgo Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    Thanks fellas, its a 94 civic and I am in AZ so rust isn't an issue. Should I replace all the bushings while I am at it or can I use the same ones assuming they are in decent condition? A few hours is all I need, I just wanted to make sure it wasn't going to tie up my whole evening.
     
  6. smooth_criminal

    smooth_criminal Senior Member

    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    you can use the same bushing if there in good shape. Just make sure that when you put the new shock shaft into the mount and you are tighting it you don't compress the bushing to a diameter biger the the bushing socket.
     
  7. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    you'll need a press for most of the suspension bushings
     
  8. MadEgo

    MadEgo Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    Yeah I am looking into finding a press I can rent. That seems to be the only hold up.
     
  9. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    You can use a table vise, and a set of ratchet sockets. one on one side, and a smaller one on the other. Done it before, works fine :)
     
  10. MadEgo

    MadEgo Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    Sweet :driver: that car will be rollin on new shocks this weekend then if all goes well :bow: :bow: :bow: :bow: Good looking out. :angel2: :angel2:
     
  11. MadEgo

    MadEgo Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    I got my shocks put in with coilovers, it rides nice. The illuminas are definetly worth the extra dough. I found out I needed new P/S rack, that hit the wallet hard so there goes my chances for a rear disc conversion anytime soon. OUCH :bash:
     
  12. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Were you on stock suspension before? What settings are you at?
     
  13. MadEgo

    MadEgo Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    Yeah I had stock suspension before. I lowered my car about 2", and left the shocks at the street level. I am still playing with the ride height and fine tuning things. I am rolling on stock wheels.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page