1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

evap purge

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by qtmac_mien, Jan 12, 2005.

  1. qtmac_mien

    qtmac_mien Senior Member

    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    do i need to hook that up to my jdm b16 in my ek??
     
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    depends on what ecu you use.
     
  3. qtmac_mien

    qtmac_mien Senior Member

    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
  4. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Nope. Sure don't.

    I have NEVER run an evap canister setup on any of my cars. obd2 p72 in the fodo, p28 in the fodo, pr3 in the hatch, p28 in the hatch. Never used one, never thrown a code.
     
  5. hcivic.com

    hcivic.com Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta canada
    ya don't worry about ti unless you have emission then the visal might catch it
     
  6. qtmac_mien

    qtmac_mien Senior Member

    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
  7. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    the p28 WILL throw a code if the evap is not hooke dup
     
  8. DelSlo

    DelSlo Senior Member

    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    ive been told i dont need to plug it in, but i figure i will, all i got to do is change over the connector to an obd 2 connector, im told the system will wrok the same but havent found that out yet... <_<
     
  9. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    obd1/2 evap plugs are the same
     
  10. qtmac_mien

    qtmac_mien Senior Member

    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003



    if i have to hook it up then where do i hook it up to?
     
  11. DelSlo

    DelSlo Senior Member

    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004



    maybe down there but not up here, my obd 1 connector is round and all obd 2's are rectangular. still a two pin connector
     
  12. nfn15037

    nfn15037 Senior Member

    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    And FWIW, there is no Evap purge code on OBDI, it sends a signal to open the valve but doesn't look for any feedback of any sort. It runs fine without it. So many people get the IAT and evap plugs mixed up on swaps and blow out Q31 on the board and they never get a CEL once the IAT is plugged in properly even though the entire evap circuit is now inoperative.
     
  13. qtmac_mien

    qtmac_mien Senior Member

    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003



    So do i need to plug it in or not??
     
  14. nfn15037

    nfn15037 Senior Member

    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    You do not need to hook it up, you will not get a CEL and it will run fine.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page