1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

EX cluster in DX

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by lowandslow, Jul 4, 2004.

  1. lowandslow

    lowandslow Senior Member

    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    maine
    i bought an EX cluster for my 93 civic dx, off from a fellow hondaswapper, and i need a little background on how to hardwire the tac and water temp gauges. i know the tac works off the coil, but im not sure which wire(s) to fuse it to the cluster. and the water temp, i have no idea. i guess thats all, any help would be much appreciateive :)

    thank youuu
     
  2. MXDesa

    MXDesa Senior Member

    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Location:
    Queens, New York
    Plug it in, it will work just fine. You dont need to do any extra wiring. I put a EX cluster in my DX and it worked great.
     
  3. driverunknown

    driverunknown Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,474
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    :werd: just be careful with the bezel. It breaks pretty easily.
     
  4. lowandslow

    lowandslow Senior Member

    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    maine
    just plug and play? i thought some wiring had to be done. guess the jokes on me, thanks for the info guys
     
  5. vtecsir1

    vtecsir1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    yes just plug and play, make sure when you take off the cover piece that surrounds your ac and cluster you dont break or bend it. remove the hazard switch and there is a screw under it after you remove all the other screws that has to be removed first.
     
  6. lowandslow

    lowandslow Senior Member

    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    maine

    yea, when i put in my white faces, i found the screw after about a half hour of dicking around looking for it. i won tho.
     
  7. liquid00meth

    liquid00meth Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Location:
    Laconia, NH
    be careful pulling the black piece with the vents, I broke mine.
     
  8. JDMilan

    JDMilan Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    it's easy to do, one or two screws keeping your black bezel on the dash, then four screws for the cluster, plug it up and turn the car on to see if the needles line up with the new cluster and see if all the bulbs work, when they do reinstall the bezel.
     
  9. YouKnowWhoIBee

    YouKnowWhoIBee my avatar is better.

    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Maryland
    3 screws for the black peice to come out. @ on top of the cluster and one you have to take out your hazard switch and there is a screw behind that. Then you have to kind of pry it up carefully around all edges.
     
  10. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    :werd:

    Three screws. Don't miss the one behind the hazard button! I thought I was going to break mine until I found out about that screw.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page