1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

F22B2 swap to F22B1/non-VTEC - VTEC

Discussion in 'Accord' started by datkwikracer, May 1, 2009.

  1. datkwikracer

    datkwikracer New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    I saw that there was a similar post but I did not want to thread-jack.

    Anyway my wifes 96 Accord threw a rod. So in my search for a used engine I came across a VTEC engine from a 5th gen Accord EX.

    Basically I was wondering how simple this swap is or isn't and whether I will need the ECU, or any other harnesses, mounts? Will it bolt up?

    Or should I just look for the F22B2 found in my stock LX?
     
  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    you would need the ecu and convert to obd1, other than that it will all bolt up just fine.
     
  3. datkwikracer

    datkwikracer New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    I have to convert even if the VTEC engine was also OBD 2?
     
  4. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    In that case, no. You will need to add a few wires if you want the VTEC to work however...
     
  5. datkwikracer

    datkwikracer New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Some mechanic tolde I'd have a check engine light on if I use the VTEC engine in my my non VTEC Accord.

    And is there a write up on how to wire the VTEC somewhere. Do I need the VTEC harness and ECU.
     
  6. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Not if you do it the right way. I'm not sure if we have a write-up here. Check the reference section. If not, just Google it. There's about a billion write-ups out there. And yes, you'll need the ECU. You won't necessarily need the harness. You can just add the few wires that you'll need for VTEC to the existing harness...
     
  7. MrClean228

    MrClean228 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    I actually did the same swap myself. I had F22b2 and Coverted to F22b1. I found that the distributors are different. The coil is built outside of the distributor on the b2 and on the b1 it is built internally into the distributor. Use your old distributor and coil from the b2. You will have to find a spot to mount the coil but other than that it is plug and play there. Also you can run the motor on your base tune but you won't be able to get Vtec to kick unless you get an new chipped ecu. Tranny bolts up just fine. You can keep your OBD1 harness don't worry about converting to OBD 2 the only difference is the distributor. I had to find this myself, there isn't any forums I searched and no one has really done this. Also you may have to use your old manifold to wire in the O2 sensor. On the b1 motor the o2 sensor is mounted below the car. The b2 has the sensor mounted right in the manifold.
     
  8. Tino

    Tino New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Mr.Clean228 , can you give me more info on the distributor. How exactly to do it?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page