1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

finished my buddys lsvtec but the motor dies when he steps on the gas!

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by civiclxb16, Jul 2, 2006.

  1. civiclxb16

    civiclxb16 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Poconos pa
    OK this has been a long adventure and i want it to be over! my buddy bought an lsvtec turbo motor from this guy locally. he didn't want to spend the money on getting new parts such as a tensionor and water pump so he put all that together. we got the motor in the car, did a lot of work to get it in and all! so finally we got everything in and everything running, went to start the car and boom it started on the first shot i was happy! when he stepped on the gas my smile turned upside down! he stepped on the gas and it almost shut off, he let go and it went back to idle, stepped on it and almost died again. cel is on but the only code we got was the second o2 sensor we forgot to plug it in. What else can it be? i think it is the timing from the timing belt but those damn aem gears are kind of hard to read. so i want to know if anyone can snap a pic for me of there aem cam gears at tdc for me so i can check that also! thanks guys
     
  2. scottp11

    scottp11 The Seniorest Member....

    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Location:
    El Paso, TX now, originally from Fresno, CA
    That happened to me when I swapped a B16 into my 97 civic. Turned out to be a vacuum hose not connected.
     
  3. phyregod

    phyregod !!YTINASNI

    Messages:
    9,449
    Likes Received:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Check compression.. and spark plug gap. I assume you put in a new fuel filter when you did this? Also, if you have the tools handy, check fuel pressure.
     
  4. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    Swap the MAP sensor plug with the TPS plug, and the TPS plug with the MAP sensor plug
     
  5. civiclxb16

    civiclxb16 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Poconos pa
    didn't check compression which is not a bad idea being that the motor has 0 miles on it fresh rebuild, fuel pressure is at 42 psi spark gap is perfect and brand new and fuel filter is new as well. we changed the ecu today and it started right up! but it idles up and down over and over again and when he stepped on the gas it went up pretty smooth until 3k we didn't want to rev to high yet!
     
  6. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    i'm say fuel pressure my car did that a while back, well somewhat .. not the extent you said.. its probably a combination of things
     
  7. scottp11

    scottp11 The Seniorest Member....

    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Location:
    El Paso, TX now, originally from Fresno, CA
    Did you try swapping the MAP sensor plug with the TPS plug, and the TPS plug with the MAP sensor plug?
     
  8. killercannible

    killercannible Senior Member

    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    thats gotta be a vacuum leak. Same thing happened when we did turbo on my buddys ls/vtec. The missing link had a plug that had fallen out and caused the same sort of symptoms your talking about. As soon as you covered the hole with your finger the engine would start idiling fine. Good luck.
     
  9. civiclxb16

    civiclxb16 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Poconos pa
    ok got to work on the motor today and i checked the cels and i have two cel to take care of one is code 14 which is IAC and the other is code 22 vtec oil pressure. now what do i got to do to take care of that code 14 code 22 i know what to do with that let me know what you guys got for me!
     
  10. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    code 14 is iac, there are 2 plugs that are hte same, make sure you have the right one in the correct space. otherwise, pull the iac off, clean it and reinstall it.
     
  11. civiclxb16

    civiclxb16 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Poconos pa
    love you man! you hit it on the head we had the wrong wire plugged in! now all we got is code 22! that we know what is wrong the sensor plug is broken so we need to hook it up some how but that is what we needed fixed!
     
  12. scottp11

    scottp11 The Seniorest Member....

    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Location:
    El Paso, TX now, originally from Fresno, CA
    That was said back in post #4 and #7...
     
  13. phyregod

    phyregod !!YTINASNI

    Messages:
    9,449
    Likes Received:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Third time's a charm??

    So, no more running issues or is it still going to hell when you give it gas??

    Compression?
     
  14. scottp11

    scottp11 The Seniorest Member....

    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Location:
    El Paso, TX now, originally from Fresno, CA
    Guess so....
     
  15. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    No, actually it wasnt.

    What he was told to switch was the MAP and TPS sensor plugs, not to check the IACV plug and to make sure the correct one was plugged in.
     
  16. civiclxb16

    civiclxb16 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Poconos pa
    thanks brian but no there is only one cel and that is for the vtec because the plug is broken
     
  17. scottp11

    scottp11 The Seniorest Member....

    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Location:
    El Paso, TX now, originally from Fresno, CA
    You're right, my bad...
     
  18. civiclxb16

    civiclxb16 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Poconos pa
    well we took the car out for a spin and when came back oil was flying all over the place! we cut off the motor and cleaned it up put some oil back in with some color die and we started the car and stepped on the gas and oil was coming out again, its coming from the lower timing belt cover almost right where the crank gear is. what could it be?
     
  19. scottp11

    scottp11 The Seniorest Member....

    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Location:
    El Paso, TX now, originally from Fresno, CA
    I hope it's just your oil pan gasket... If not....
     
  20. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl
    i'm assuming you got the motor for a steal;) JK.

    yeah thats not a good problem to have when you buy a motor. I'm thinking oil pump, or pan gasket.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page