First time reworking the front end (post tips!)

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

dacheat

..is grounded.
ok, this is my first time taking a stock '91 crx and replacing the following: upper/lower ball joints, tie rod ends, wheel bearings, brakes.

i've got all of the obvious parts ordered/on the way, the haynes manual, and it suggests i need to take the knuckles in to get the wheel bearings pressed out/new ones pressed in. i've priced that out and it isn't cost effective, shall we say.

here's what the front end looks like. i have the rotors off the hubs, the hubs off the car, and all of the joints separated.

what i want to know is what do i need to know to get it put back together 'right' the first time? anyone who's been through the wheel bearing replacement before, plz weigh in. how do i get those bastards out and new ones in without wrecking them, and without spending $170 at a shop?

thanks.

ps i have the brakes covered, keep the focus on the wheel bearings, etc. thanks! :)

Last edited:
You'll need a hydraulic press or a special tool to get the bearings in. If you know someone, great, if not you might need to just cough it up for a shop to do it. $170 seems high for just bringing in the spindles and having the bearings pressed. Try and talk them down or try shopping around.

You could also try renting the tool. I tried using the tool on my buddy's Accord and it didn't work well at all. We ended up just pulling the whole knuckle and bringing to my buddy who pressed in the new bearing for free.

Last edited: