1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

flash

Discussion in 'Members' Lounge' started by Smonkeyboy, Oct 21, 2005.

  1. Smonkeyboy

    Smonkeyboy Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,775
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    damit. why doesnt my avatar work.

    does anyone see the blue ball bouncing around.


    istarted playin with flash today for the first time and after 20min of figuring shit out i made my the blue ball that bounces around. its like 8 seconds long. and then i saved it as a gif. but i dont see it moving. did i screw someing up when i saved it, or does my computer lick ass and everyone else can see it bounce.
     
  2. jamesA

    jamesA Well known pissed off telephone guy VIP

    Messages:
    16,123
    Likes Received:
    1,020
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    I just see the ball sittin in the bottom right corner.
     
  3. staticv0id

    staticv0id Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    You know that place, over there ->
    Doesnt seem to be bouncing... its just like sitting still on the right hand bottom corner, I suck with computers so I wouldn't know what to tell yah, sorry.
     
  4. Smonkeyboy

    Smonkeyboy Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,775
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    damnit, i must have saved it wrong, cause when it was a flash file it bounced around for about 8 seconds, but i dont have the gif version here, i only have the flash version. so if anyone can help itd be sweet.
     
  5. dveit

    dveit Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    5,361
    Likes Received:
    79
    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    DMV
    it's just in the bottom right corner for me.
     
  6. YouKnowWhoIBee

    YouKnowWhoIBee my avatar is better.

    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Maryland
    o use image ready cs2... and save as a gif.
     
  7. Smonkeyboy

    Smonkeyboy Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,775
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    hmm.. you mean make it in image ready, or open my flash file in image ready and save as a gif?
     
  8. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    if the file is animated and bigger than the size limit it will only show the 1st frame.

    Clayton's avatar (seen it on other boards) is supposed to be a spinning miniature red Z. Here it only shows the 1st frame.
     
  9. Smonkeyboy

    Smonkeyboy Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,775
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    nope. i know thats not it. my gif is only 4kb, the limit is 20kb.
     
  10. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    then you probably didn't save it right.
     
  11. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    flash avatars are not allowed.

    if you notice, it turned it into a jpg.
     
  12. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    Furthermore, when you're saving a GIF in flash it has two options:
    Go to File->Publish Settings.
    Check the 'save as .gif' box
    Then go to the 2nd tab up top, (the GIF tab).
    Now in there it will ask if you want to save as Static or Animated.
    Check the 'Animated', for some gay reason flash has 'Static' pre-checked for you.
    Then hit the 'publish' button.
    All is well.
    :)
     
  13. Smonkeyboy

    Smonkeyboy Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,775
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    thats my problem, i published as a gif but didnt change it to animated.


    ha, expect to see a working one on Tuesday.
     
  14. dveit

    dveit Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    5,361
    Likes Received:
    79
    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    DMV
     
  15. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    Jesus christ, it takes you 4 days to publish a 20kb gif?
     
  16. Smonkeyboy

    Smonkeyboy Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,775
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    haha, no i dont have flash i have to use the comps at school :mrgreen: and dont have class till Tues
     
  17. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    oh.
    Flash is a free download at macromedia.com, then visit other sites to get it uhm.. fixed up. :)
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page