1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fmu? A Quick Question

Discussion in 'Forced Induction' started by Liquidblaze, Apr 18, 2003.

  1. Liquidblaze

    Liquidblaze Senior Member

    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL USA
    Well, i am putting on my T3 IHI this weekend, I was wondering if I have to have a FMU? I have a 98 DX and stock injectors for now. Later in time i will get a fuel pressure regulator and 450cc injectors.

    FYI, I got turbo for $75 from a friend of mine. He had it on his Ford Ranger and was running 24psi and spraying a 50 shot of nitrous until he blew the motor.

    Thanks,
    Chris
     
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    FMU= fucks motors up

    how much boost do you plan to run on stock injectors before you blow up?
    how much boost do you plan to run on stock fuel pump before you blow up?

    you need to do the vafc hack or something similar
     
  3. Liquidblaze

    Liquidblaze Senior Member

    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL USA
    I plan to run around 6 - 8 psi.

    What exactly is a vafc hack? I have heard of it but i am not quite familiar with it.
     
  4. SolReaver

    SolReaver Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2002
    on stock injectors i wouldnt go past 5 psi with a fmu

    with a higher pressure fuel pump, id go to 7-8 at MAX

    still, like b said the afc hack is a better choice...its using a safc to trick the ecu into thinking its in vaccuum, letting be driveable with the big injectors and have plenty of fuel under boost- or better yet check out ubertegs boost chip, all you need is the chip (100 bucks) and 450cc injectors (dsm ones are like 50 bucks)
     
  5. bluepearlintegragsr

    bluepearlintegragsr Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    So if i planned on putting turbo on my LS then instead of getting a FMU just get a SAFC? Would i still need to get a different ECU?
     
  6. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    ecu has nothing to do with this.
    the Uberchip is a CHIP. it goes in yoru current ecu via soldering in a zif socket.
     
  7. calvin

    calvin Senior Member

    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Location:
    NETHERLANDS
    Pissoffsol, where can i get info about the chip?
     
  8. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page