1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fmu

Discussion in 'Forced Induction' started by |Daras, Apr 11, 2009.

  1. |Daras

    |Daras New Member

    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    yes I know I ask too many questios but I gotta know them at all cost, guys I was breaking my head thinking about fuel management. I plan on running a t25,t28, some 7,8 psi on a b18b1 eg civic hatchback. I know I have to upgrade the injectors, but I dont want to go with 440s I want something a bit more small, my question is what are exactly the FMUs do I need to run hondata or any other program on my ecu with a FMU? or does the FMU just eliminates any complication with fuel management and lets u have ure stock ecu? coz what I had tought was runing uberdata or chrome some 330cc injectors and walbro 225, but if the FMU is a less complicated thing then by all means I want one of em.

    what do u guys recomend me to do for fuel management taking in consideration my setup?

    tanks.
     
  2. klyph

    klyph Dismember VIP

    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    North Pole, AK
    An FMU is used with the stock ECU, but they don't work worth a shit. Hondata/Chrome/Uberdata etc. are actual engine management, but you'll need to upgrade your injectors.

    I recommend that you:
     
  3. ihatemyprelude

    ihatemyprelude New Member

    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Location:
    Ocala, FL

    there are so many chips out there but you need chrome if you are working with less money. If you have good money go with hondata, and you need 440's. You dont need a stand alone fmu, helps to get a turbo timer its a good use of $150. You should invest more time in learning about turbos and compressor maps.
    Do you know where you are getting the car tuned? and who is doing it. Tunners are very rare in some places. just trying to give you a heads up.
     
  4. |Daras

    |Daras New Member

    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    so u think ill need 440s to run 8 psi? oh and I really dont know where ill get my car tuned, I still have to go through piecing the car together, I only have the shell, gotta do the b18b swap first.do u know of some place where they tune close to miami? "not too expensive coz im cheap" pfffff its gonna b a long ass year haha ^_^ and about the turbo timer I agree it seems like a good investment.
     
  5. ihatemyprelude

    ihatemyprelude New Member

    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Location:
    Ocala, FL
    ya miami has the best tuners in the state next to john in tampa, should cost you almost $400 for a good tune and 3-5 dyno runs. And yes 440s are just fine for you, my D had 8psi and 440s worked great.
     
  6. JdMsoles

    JdMsoles New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    whatever you do dont run a fmu/missing link all they do is hack your injectors and make them flow more,not allowing your IM to see positive intake air pressure, and they dont advance ignition timing, which isnt smart for a FI set up if you want it to last., just get a basemap, or tune hondata or something..
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page