1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

forum help

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by brian11to1, Jun 30, 2006.

  1. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Ok, Ive been trying to teach myself how to manipulate the CSS on my site, so far I have done ok, I think.

    But, there are some problems I cant seem to find the answers to.

    [​IMG]

    If its outlined in yellow, I dont want a background color. Any ideas or hints or anything?
     
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    can't be done in the default template. that alt1 class effects EVERY instance of the grey. you'll have to edit your templates on the navbar and the forumdisplay and give them a new class name, say alt5 (3 and 4 are used as well by default) and then add
    Code:
    .alt5 { background: #000000; }
    
    in the custom css area at the bottom.
     
  3. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    So its going to be hard to do?
    If i gave you admin access would you do it for me?
     
  4. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    ok Brian, I gave up on that... just need some assistance... here...

    Ive tried everything, been to a lot of forums on CSS and have came up with nothing.

    Can you help?
     

    Attached Files:

    • asd.JPG
      asd.JPG
      File size:
      29.2 KB
      Views:
      31
    • asd2.JPG
      asd2.JPG
      File size:
      33.1 KB
      Views:
      32
  5. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    This is the CSS I've added to try to fix it...

    Code:
    <td>background: transparent</td>
    <th>background: transparent</th>
    <p>background: transparent</p>
    <li>background: transparent</li>
    also

    Code:
    <td>background-color: transparent</td>
    <th>background-color: transparent</th>
    <p>background-color: transparent</p>
    <li>background-color: transparent</li>
     
  6. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    css doesn't use html selectors, and "transparent" is depreciated.

    Code:
    td { background: #000000; }
    

    for example. you'll need to specify a color, but that will change EVERY table cell, so that's probably not what you want to do. I can't tell what you want from your screen shots.
     
  7. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Id just set a class for it like

    Code:
    .tdalt1 
    {
    background: #000000;
    }
    
    and then:
    Code:
    <td class="tdalt1">
    
     
  8. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Im sorry, I have a hard time typing when Im fuming becuase I cant figure it out.

    The areas in yellow, need to be transparent or black not gray.

    reikoshea - where do I input the code you gavE?
     
  9. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    I think i know what you are talking about (FINALLY).

    You'll have to remove the:

    padding: 5px;

    line in the body class.

    Itll get rid of the black but it will shrink the size of the forum (i think).

    I hadnt been to your website when i wrote that. Now that ive seen the actual code, the new thing should work.
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2006
  10. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    I have no idea where to put that though. I have never seen the actual coding of my site. I use the AdminCP to modify the colors and stuff. Are you familiar with Vbulletin 3.4.5?
     
  11. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    okay, i know what you mean.

    download the index.php file from your website onto your hard drive. HOPEFULLY this will be easy.

    Open the file in notepad.
    Find
    padding: 5px;
    Delete
    Save
    Upload

    I hope VBulliten is written that way. Otherwise, its up to B, cause ive never used vbulletin, and it would take me a bit (like an hour...and i definitely dont wanna be up that much longer) to figure it completely out. If you dont figure it out before the F1 race tomorrow (11:30 Central) send me an IM at Reik0shea (thats a zero) on AIM. Ill help you out. Just create an acct for me on your server and ill take care of it.
     
  12. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    I dont think you can modify the index file on vbulletin. Ill try it though.
     
  13. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    reikoshea - do you want/need admin access to the CP? Im not comfortable doing that however.

    Yea, you cant change it that way. :( BBBBBBBBB help!!!!
     
  14. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Not asking you to do anything that would make you uncomfortable. The only thing that would allow me to help you is an admin acct on the forum.

    Ive never used VBulliten, and since HS is now a VBulletin site, i figure B would be better at it than i am...BED TIME THOUGH. Gotta get up and watch Michael kick ass tomorrow.
     
  15. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    your an admin...
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2006
  16. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    I figured it out, thanks again.

    I had to enter a color for the Table Border, I removed it and forgot I had done this.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page