1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

From D16y8 to D16y7

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by DwnShftPrincess, Jun 1, 2006.

  1. DwnShftPrincess

    DwnShftPrincess Senior Member

    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Location:
    Orangeburg, SC
    I am in desperate need of replacing my d16y8 motor (broken piston) and i have a FREE d16y7 in good condition that I can use. What all do i have to do to change over. I plan on adding the vtec on later but do i have to change the computer and anything else?
     
  2. scottp11

    scottp11 The Seniorest Member....

    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Location:
    El Paso, TX now, originally from Fresno, CA
    You can just swap the motor and ecu. Too easy. I would suggest keeping your Y8 tranny though cuzz it's got a little better gearing. Your axles, mounts, everything will just bolt up. I don't know if you have an intake, but the manifolds are different so you'd have to use the Y7 one. That's it.
     
  3. 97hatch

    97hatch ?

    Messages:
    1,695
    Likes Received:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Location:
    Anderson IN
    put you vtec head on now dont change your ecu and you will be good to go. if you dont you need to change you iacv wiring and some thing else that i dont renber
     
  4. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    werd. if you broke a rod and your head is still in good condition, just slap the y8 head onto the y7 and keep your old ECU. Youll be good to go (its not that simple, but it is indeed simple).
     
  5. DwnShftPrincess

    DwnShftPrincess Senior Member

    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Location:
    Orangeburg, SC
    Does anyone have a how-to guide for doing this?
     
  6. DwnShftPrincess

    DwnShftPrincess Senior Member

    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Location:
    Orangeburg, SC
    are these also referred to as the head bolt set or is that something else? how can I tell if my head is still good?
     
  7. DwnShftPrincess

    DwnShftPrincess Senior Member

    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Location:
    Orangeburg, SC
    My head isn't any good. piston #1 is stuck and there has been some sort of unusual contact between the pistons and the valves that caused indentions in the metal of the pistons and valves. So the valves aren't any good. Since I have this fully functioning D16Y7 what type of changes have to be made? Can I use my stock computer with this motor? What kind of wiring and adjustments do I have to make?
     
  8. DwnShftPrincess

    DwnShftPrincess Senior Member

    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Location:
    Orangeburg, SC
  9. DwnShftPrincess

    DwnShftPrincess Senior Member

    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Location:
    Orangeburg, SC
    do i have to do any wiring?
     
  10. EGProject

    EGProject YEEEEAAHHHHH

    Messages:
    2,870
    Likes Received:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Location:
    Whitinsville, Massachusetts
    Ditto for above. I've done a mini-me headswap on both my car D15/16Z and on an EK with the Y8 and Y7. Fairly straightforward. If the head is good- use it. Additionally if the head itself isn't good, swap the intake manifold onto the Y7 head. The Y7 manifold is stupid and used a small throttle body mounted DPFI style.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page