1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

full z6 swap in an auto hx ek

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by ktyr5151, Feb 16, 2012.

  1. ktyr5151

    ktyr5151 New Member

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Location:
    Springfield, VT
    Hello all,
    I have a 96 civic hx has the stupid cvt auto transmission. i also have a parts car (95 eg) has a z6 in it with 114k miles. I want to do the full z6 swap with the standard transmission into my ek coupe which is way cleaner. I just dont really know what exactly will needed to be done to make the full z6 swap work. Its a full swap so i have all the parts to make it a 5 speed. I just dont know where to start? Any help would be greatly appreciated. I have searched and nothing really came up on this. And when it did it was a dead thread and was not helpful at all.
     
  2. serrilion

    serrilion In my own little world! VIP

    Messages:
    1,758
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Vermont
    its a strait swap over - you will need an OBD1 to OBD2 convertion for your ECU. You would need everything from the D16z6 engine harness, trans, axels, mounts, ect ect...
     
  3. ktyr5151

    ktyr5151 New Member

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Location:
    Springfield, VT
    as far as wiring goes, do i just replace the engine harness that is already in the car with the z6 harness?
     
  4. serrilion

    serrilion In my own little world! VIP

    Messages:
    1,758
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Vermont
    yes. but u will need the OBD2- OBD1 convertion kit ask the cars harness is a obd2 inside passed the fire wall
     
  5. ktyr5151

    ktyr5151 New Member

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Location:
    Springfield, VT
    Oh yeah i already knew about that. My next question is can i use the stock automatic ek drivers side motor mount for the z6 5 speed swap?
     
  6. serrilion

    serrilion In my own little world! VIP

    Messages:
    1,758
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Vermont
    No u will need the 5speed mount of the z6
     
  7. tabKola

    tabKola New Member

    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Tewksbury MA
    Yep, you will also need to weld a frame rail mount from a 5 speed car in place of the cvt one.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page