1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gaming Console needs to double as a PC...HELP

Discussion in 'Car Audio / Security / Electronic Accessories' started by d17type-R, Sep 26, 2006.

  1. d17type-R

    d17type-R Doc Brown says

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Location:
    Langley BC
    I hope I can get some good ideas out of this. I thought it would be totally bithchin if the screen I want to put into my trunk could also have a touch-screen overlay that would control a windows based media center that uses touch icons. There is such a program, that much I know.

    The tricky part comes in where I want to use either a Playstation 2 or XBox 360 and have it double as a PC for the purpose of running said application.

    How do you make a gaming console run a computer program?

    Someone told me that you can use Linux on a PS2.

    If anyone has any bright ideas that'd be killer
    dbadct@hotmail.com
    :D
     
  2. d17type-R

    d17type-R Doc Brown says

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Location:
    Langley BC
    A little feedback please

    :feedback: :toot: Celerity, do you ar any of the other members have any ideas?
     
  3. BodyDroppedNikes

    BodyDroppedNikes ...PENDEJO.... VIP

    Messages:
    10,593
    Likes Received:
    103
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    caught in a mosh...
    id think that the Xbox 360 would be better suited to serve as a pc rather than a PS2. there is a mobile pc system you can get but i dont know the name of it. google up "mobile pc" and see what you can find.
     
  4. Seany-izzle

    Seany-izzle New Member

    Messages:
    7,738
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Location:
    In a fucking house.
  5. d17type-R

    d17type-R Doc Brown says

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Location:
    Langley BC
  6. spikehairboy

    spikehairboy Junior Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    jsut have it setup so you have differnt inputs 1 computer 2 console sytem. cpu and ram on gaming consoles is sorry
     
  7. d17type-R

    d17type-R Doc Brown says

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Location:
    Langley BC
    the problem with doing it that way is that i'm going to be having almost everything "touch-screen". So being able to switch over to games at the touch of a finger on the screen would look pretty slick in actual operation. That's my whole thing about running just a media center off a console, plus i already have a load of console games
    ^_^
     
  8. rawerz

    rawerz New Member

    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Location:
    Texas
  9. Sabz5150

    Sabz5150 FALCON PUNCH!!!

    Messages:
    3,335
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    The 360 already suffers from overheating issues, so if he runs an app on that thing full tilt, it'll only end in tears.

    In all honesty, you'd do best running an actual PC instead of a console. More choices for games plus all the apps will run flawlessly. Linux is an excellent choice, there are plenty of frontends for media centers.

    If you want to get *REALLY* slick, you can use MythTV. Have a backend at home, then use a mobile carrier for wireless broadband (not wifi) and stream to your car. Digital cable/Satellite in your car = teh sex.

    Not to mention having all of your DVDs and recorded shows at your fingertips.
     
  10. d17type-R

    d17type-R Doc Brown says

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Location:
    Langley BC
    I have FOUND it!

    :clapping: :laughbounce2: I found the solution to all my woes.... after a lot of Gooooooooogling and tired fingers... I found something that I think is the be all and end all of cool

    http://www.infill.co.kr/eng/products/T3.asp

    Look under Gallery

    and then after looking under Specs.... I see it has monitor support, S/PDIF PCM, and a whole list of other goodies and i can order it from mp3car.com | your source for mobile computing solutions

    Mp3Car.com Custom car computers and parts!


    I MUST HAVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

    Plus it looks slick as Eel snot in the dash. Things got brushed aluminum trim... tres sexy.
     
  11. d17type-R

    d17type-R Doc Brown says

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Location:
    Langley BC
    ..... and just in case anyone wondered how you get sound to your amps:
    you use a fiber optic cable and run it to a Clarion DVH-940 5.1 Processor
    Voila! TRUE 5.1 sound. And for added convenience, Clarion also makes a Half-DIN center channel speaker:D
    ....Now all I need to do is rob a bank^_^
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page