1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gauge Cluster Swaping

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by Uppertorso, Nov 29, 2004.

  1. Uppertorso

    Uppertorso Senior Member

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Manitoba
    I have a 1996 civic CX, I would like to have the tach on my gauge cluster so that it looks stock. I checked with my Honda dealer you can actually purchase the tach and the fuel/engine temp guages seperately. Can I just install these into my cluster, and will they work??? Or do I have to purchase a new cluster??? Or do i need a new printed circuit as well as the new gauges??? :blink:

    Just wondering if anyone has tried this in the past.

    Because buying a complete cluster with a tach in it is fucking expensive on ebay, and none of my local wrecking yards have a cluster for me.

    Thanks for any input in advance. :D
     
  2. YouKnowWhoIBee

    YouKnowWhoIBee my avatar is better.

    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Maryland
    It is easier to buy the whole cluster and swap out the speedometer to make it legal and all. I have a link to do it yourself if you want it.
     
  3. Uppertorso

    Uppertorso Senior Member

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Manitoba
    I am asking if you can install a tach on my current cluster, therefore not changing
    my speedo. You can purchase the tach seperately, but is the printed circuit on the back the same???? Can i plug and play????
     
  4. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    I don't think you can, you would need the circuit board thing on the back and a bunch of other little things.

    It wouldn't be worth the trouble.
     
  5. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Swap the cluster and consult the local DMV about how to get the milage legal again.
     
  6. b204dr

    b204dr Senior Member

    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    Minnesota


    your local dealerships can do this .. match the speedo to the engines mileage (for a fee of course) just keep documentation and your straight
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page