1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gauge Swap

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by civicspeed, Feb 12, 2003.

  1. civicspeed

    civicspeed Senior Member

    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    I am plannin on puting a b18c-r into my 97 civic 2 dr and i am wondering if i will also need to put ITR gauges into the car because of the change in redline and top speed (if there is any)??
     
  2. JrSiRb16A

    JrSiRb16A Senior Member

    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Location:
    Daytona Beach, FL
    u dont have to..the gauge on your car is goin to read whatever RPM, Speed your car is doin..i got b16a in a 91 Civic..and my engine redlines at 7800 rpm..my tach only goes up to 8000 rpm..so i jus make..but the easiest way i would think is to buy a external TACH...u can add any gauges u like..
     
  3. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    dont bother. just make sure your stock gauge will read up to like 8500 which it will and just shift before that:)
     
  4. onefastcivic

    onefastcivic Senior Member

    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
  5. B18cRfreak

    B18cRfreak Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003


    I'm doing the same swap! Where do you plan on geting the motor from??
     
  6. NoJokE

    NoJokE Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    I got the B18CR swap. I got it from Hybrid Automotive, good people, the guy actually cares. I dont have the engine in cuz im doing internal work to eventually boost. If all goes well ill have it in by spring :D
     
  7. civicspeed

    civicspeed Senior Member

    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003

    I am planing to get the engine from hybrid automotive too.

    also im curious, what internal work are you doing? its kinda pointless to swap out the pistons, cams ect. that you payed so much for in the first place! the ITR is designed to run NA to make it run boost well you need to sacrifice all the things you spent all the money in the first place.

    just thought you should know
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page