Getting Ripped Off

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

nash

yo, look i'm sure people here sometimes wounder about dirty old mechanics getting the best of you and you money. So when getting a new motor (a swaped one) how can I tell for sure that i'm getting everything I have to? I'm no mechanic and I have a little knowledge about motors. I want a b series motor for my 99 civic soch vtec. Sometimes I wounder if they would screw around with the internals, etc. What parts might they try to innerchage with other motors? say i got a b18c1 or c5 i guess they could swap some b16 parts there, see thats what i mean. People know that mechanic are a rip so how can i expect not to get short changed on some part. I just to know how to catch the mechanic if he tries to screw me. Just looking at picture dont help out alot for me. So for me 99 civic soch vtec when a put a b series b16sir , b18c1 or b18c5 what are common areas that i can look for where the mechanic might try to save money, and charge me more.? the computer is a big concern for me. he cant use me soch vtec one for those motors right? if someoen can please answer these questions to there best ability, i thank you in advance for your help and knowledge.

later
nash

do the swap yourself. get a helms manual and some friends and beer.

if they use your sohc ecu.. it would run.. but the rev limiter would be off as well as the fuel/ignition maps.

i would make sure that you check the ecu when you pick it up.. and take the cluster out to make sure they didn't cut the wire to the CEL... i've seen it happen

Originally posted by pills_PMD@Apr 22 2003, 12:57 PM
do the swap yourself. get a helms manual and some friends and beer.

:werd: :withstupid:

i did my first swap not too long ago
it was MUCH easier than i expected it to be

there is no replacement for the ammount you will learn about your car

what about the wirng,
i think that might be to hard for me to do.
whats a cel?