GOD HELP ME WITH JAVASCRIPT

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

reikoshea

HS Troll...And Mod
VIP
okay, so my boss decides to promise a dealership (yes im a graphic artist for an automotive ad firm) that we can have their e-mail ad campaign up and running by May 1st.

Cool, i can do that...but what she told me today was that i need to have a small version of the ad in email (not a problem) and then a larger version pop up in a fixed window once anything is clicked (ad not a problem, pop up HUGE FRIGGIN PROBLEM).

So i get everything ready with a normal link that opens a window that opens another window (onLoad) and then the child window closes the parent. No biggie. I upload to the server and guess what happends....GOOGLE POP UP BLOCKER...YAHOO POP UP BLOCKER and FIREFOX all kill my ad. So, its back to the drawing board on something i thought would be easy.

Code:
<script language="Javascript">
var the_timeout;
function doTimer()
{
the_timeout = setTimeout("document.forms.redirect.submit();", 3000);
}
function newWindow(newContent)
 {
winContent = window.open('http://www.reikoshea.com/Work/Classic-TahoeAdFinished.html', 'nextWin', 'left=35,top=0,width=956,height=716,toolbar=no,scrollbars=no,resizable=no') 
 }
 function init()
{
doTimer();
}
window.onLoad = init;
</script>
<script LANGUAGE="VBScript">
Sub Window_Onload
window.opener = "x"
End Sub
</script>

</head>

<body>
<form onSubmit="newWindow();" name="redirect">
</form>
</body>
</html>

That just sends my browser into an endless loop, but i think im close. anyone know anything that might help me out in keeping this project alive?

Wait... So you want to create a Popup that isn't going to be blocked by popup blockers?

its not a pop up technically...the user clicked and wants more info, im giving it to them in a sized window. thats my goal, but this is an email, and sized windows dont go well with emails.