1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Got a new toy

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by Sabz5150, Mar 10, 2005.

  1. Sabz5150

    Sabz5150 FALCON PUNCH!!!

    Messages:
    3,335
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I'm back in the SMP game B) Been wanting another multiprocessor box I can tool around with. I have another one, but no controller card for it.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Cool. I'd want to hunt down a BP6 and convert it to Tualitin processors...
     
  3. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    That looks a lot like the SMP system I got to play with a couple years ago. Except mine had 2 P3 Xeons in it. :p
     
  4. Sabz5150

    Sabz5150 FALCON PUNCH!!!

    Messages:
    3,335
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003


    That would be a fun lil system.

    I got the board, procs and ram for 14 dollars, so I aint complaining.
     
  5. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,580
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    good kill!

    i built a customer a 450mhz pc last year with that same case.
     
  6. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX


    Wow, that's cheap!
     
  7. Sabz5150

    Sabz5150 FALCON PUNCH!!!

    Messages:
    3,335
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    top - 04:03:40 up 35 min, 1 user, load average: 0.00, 0.00, 0.01
    Tasks: 37 total, 1 running, 36 sleeping, 0 stopped, 0 zombie
    Cpu0 : 0.3% us, 0.0% sy, 0.0% ni, 99.7% id, 0.0% wa, 0.0% hi, 0.0% si
    Cpu1 : 0.0% us, 0.0% sy, 0.0% ni, 100.0% id, 0.0% wa, 0.0% hi, 0.0% si
    Mem: 126236k total, 77512k used, 48724k free, 4976k buffers
    Swap: 298136k total, 0k used, 298136k free, 58264k cached

    IT LIVES!

    Pretty damn snappy for only 266MHz processors too. SMP + preemptible kernel > ALL.
     
  8. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    try dual p4 xeons :p
     
  9. Sabz5150

    Sabz5150 FALCON PUNCH!!!

    Messages:
    3,335
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003


    Given I get enough to build a cutting edge box, it will be dual Opterons.

    My next plan is to take the dual P120 and slave it to the dual P2 via beowulf, have a micro cluster.
     
  10. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    not a bad idea there...

    Your new name will henceforth be... OpenSource Man!

    :lol:

    And yeah, Dual Opterons would rock.
     
  11. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    info on the opterons? never heard of those
     
  12. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    It's basically an Athlon 64 that's structured for use in SMP servers.
     
  13. MaaseyRacer

    MaaseyRacer Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    San Francisco, Ca.
    Sweet I have a dual P2 450 Xeon, board and two processors sitting around somewhere, I want to do something with them, just do not have the time or really know what I want to do with them.
     
  14. Citizen_Insane

    Citizen_Insane Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    Yeah, SMP is the best. I was first addicted when I got my first workstation from dell, a Precision 220 with dual 1ghz Xeons. That thing lasted for ever (and can still keep up with pretty new P4'). However, my pride and joy is my new SMP rig running dual 3.06gHz Xeons on an IWILL DH800 board. I can tell you, these things SCREEM. They churn out 3d Studio Max renders like mad! There s nothing better than seeing 4 little rendering buckets filling up the screen :). Have fun with that thing, it may be old, but even those old machines can be a lot of fun!

    (BTW, if you're looking into an inexpensive dual P4 Xeon rig, check out the 1.6ghz LV Xeons, they can be easily overclocked to 3ghz and some people have them running over 3.3ghz!! Best of all, they're only $150 a PAIR!!!!!)
     
  15. Sabz5150

    Sabz5150 FALCON PUNCH!!!

    Messages:
    3,335
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    My bud gave me his old trick 'em out case, so I moved the system to it. Tossed in a cold cathode blacklight that I had sitting around.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Gonna go with a blue/silver theme. Should look nice when I'm done. Nothing too insane though.
     
  16. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    Blue + Silver = best.

    That's what my case theme is.
     
  17. hondarin

    hondarin Please enter a value using 50 characters or fewer. VIP

    Messages:
    1,955
    Likes Received:
    125
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Location:
    Texas; where else?
    heh, we have the same speakears (and i'm guessing the same monitor too) :p
     
  18. Sabz5150

    Sabz5150 FALCON PUNCH!!!

    Messages:
    3,335
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003


    Compaq 7550. Decent monitor too... 1600x1200 is crisp as all.

    My g/f's 'rents got a flat panel so they gave this one to me, new in box. :ph34r:
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page