1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

got a turbo kit for free...can i use the charger?

Discussion in 'Forced Induction' started by lil_red_si, Apr 26, 2006.

  1. lil_red_si

    lil_red_si Senior Member

    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    west haven,ct
    so i was job shadowing for my shop today and i seen a saab sittin in the back smashed up.......i aks the guy if i can take parts off and he said by all means do......now......i belive this saab turbo is coolant cooled because it had banjo lines comin from the block and on the head......and when i unbolted it blue water came out.....but there was a drain hose from the bottom of the turbo to the oil pan.....i also got all the piping and a nice front mount intercooler.....what do you guys think [​IMG]

    btw its going on my d16a6......on my crx
     
  2. EGProject

    EGProject YEEEEAAHHHHH

    Messages:
    2,870
    Likes Received:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Location:
    Whitinsville, Massachusetts
    Clean it up, and check the turbo for shaft play. I'd suggest new lines, or cleaning the ones you have - and maybe checking the wastegate. Sounds like a good score!
     
  3. lil_red_si

    lil_red_si Senior Member

    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    west haven,ct
    i already did....spins freely...no shaft play at all guys!!!!....but if it was originally coolant cooled....can i just run it oil cooled with the original oil lines like i would with an oil cooled turbo?.......how do i mount the intercooler....i tried just sittin it in front of the radiatior and it was to big in width so it kept the rad from being close to the t bar to bolt it back on
     
  4. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    werd. youre good to go...youll have to tap for coolant if you wanna install it, but thats about the only part that would be unusual.
     
  5. lil_red_si

    lil_red_si Senior Member

    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    west haven,ct
    sooo....i can or can not use that turbo with my oil lines instead of coolant [​IMG]
     
  6. driver1

    driver1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,979
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    nope its oil and water cooled u must use both in order to cool it properly
     
  7. hotrex

    hotrex Senior Member

    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    you do not need to watercool that turbo.
     
  8. lil_red_si

    lil_red_si Senior Member

    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    west haven,ct
    cool...so i got a good turbo start off...now i need a manifold.....anyone with an hf,std manny
     
  9. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    talk to hotrex...something tells me hed make you one.
     
  10. lil_red_si

    lil_red_si Senior Member

    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    west haven,ct
    i need a stock manny....i dont wanna spend 150-200 on a manifold....i dont have very much money...im waiting on celeritys payment for my pistons and rings
     
  11. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    you have a new turbo and you want a stock mani?
     
  12. lil_red_si

    lil_red_si Senior Member

    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    west haven,ct
    oh well....if hotrex wants to make me a manny without an external wastegate for a d-series for 80 ucks...that would be kudo heaven
     
  13. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
  14. lil_red_si

    lil_red_si Senior Member

    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    west haven,ct
    ok den 100 bam beanos!!!!! my crx is begging for boost.....shhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhooooooooooooo
     
  15. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Yup. Not required. It's a good idea (I would hook it up), but not necessary.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page