1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GSR P72,

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by Sergey P.A., Jan 31, 2004.

  1. Sergey P.A.

    Sergey P.A. Senior Member

    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Location:
    253 Tacoma
    ok, what rev limit would you use on a GSR with Stock Valve Train,
    and I don't want to swich to OBD1 because too much headeach, I have a OBD2, ,
     
  2. jamesA

    jamesA Well known pissed off telephone guy VIP

    Messages:
    16,127
    Likes Received:
    1,020
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    where does a gsr redline stock? wherever it is... I'd use stock..
     
  3. dohch22a4

    dohch22a4 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    The valve springs on a stock GS-R can only handle 8200-8300 RPM. After that you WILL float valves. The stock rev limiter is at 8200. Don't change it at all.
     
  4. 92hatchVx

    92hatchVx Junior Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    On the subject of Gsr Ecu's ...what does the JDM gsr ecus top out at? around 112 mph right? is there anyway of changing this and if so is it worth it or should i just find a Usdm ecu...
     
  5. AllMotorMonster

    AllMotorMonster Senior Member

    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    Inland Empire foo!

    If you're planning on staying stock, then don't bother with the JDM ecu, get a USA model.

    If you don't care, then the JDM will work fine, but less options for programming it over the US model.

    If you need a GSR ecu, I have 2 for sale, both OBD1

    LMK.
     
  6. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    USMD P72 ecu:

    redline at 8200, i shift right around 8

    and as far as a speed limiter....
    [​IMG]
    B16A w/ ITR trans on an obd2 P72. i have yet to find a straightaway around here that'll let me get much faster than that.

    nothin at all wrong with the usdm obd2 p72, IMO. works great for me.
     
  7. 92hatchVx

    92hatchVx Junior Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    Will the Ecu's just plug right in? i thought the Jdm gsr had a 10:6:1 comp ratio and the USDM had 10:2:1 comp ratio? so will the USDM ecu work the the Jdm Gsr? and also how much are u asking for the USDM ecu?
     
  8. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    if its fom the same obd, it will.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page