1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

guage cluster doesnt work

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by hold on not done acler8ng, Sep 17, 2008.

  1. hold on not done acler8ng

    hold on not done acler8ng hold on not done acler8ng

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Location:
    fremont CA
    can anyone tell me how to get it working again, im sick of getting pulled over and being asked how fast i was going and not being able to answer it
     
  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    bad vss,or bad gauge cluster
     
  3. hold on not done acler8ng

    hold on not done acler8ng hold on not done acler8ng

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Location:
    fremont CA
  4. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    first id try to borrow another cluster just to rule that out, then if it is the vss thats bad you buy a new one then replace it its like 2 bolts, its on the very back of the tranny
     
  5. craiger

    craiger New Member

    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Ahhhvtec. What does the VSS actually do? What does it stand for, VSS? Thanks.
     
  6. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    vehicle speed sensor, it tells us how fast we are going
     
  7. hold on not done acler8ng

    hold on not done acler8ng hold on not done acler8ng

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Location:
    fremont CA
    alright thanks, sounds easy enough, i dont think its the vss because the entire cluster doesnt work
     
  8. craiger

    craiger New Member

    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    Ahhvtec: thanks for the answer on VSS.
    Hold On: Are you sure that there isn't any cut or frayed wires or damaged connectors that go to the back of the cluster? Once you figure this out you need to tell us what fixed this problem.
     
  9. hold on not done acler8ng

    hold on not done acler8ng hold on not done acler8ng

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Location:
    fremont CA
    ya ill let you know what i did, im going to check it out this weekend, ill have my friend help me out
     
  10. hold on not done acler8ng

    hold on not done acler8ng hold on not done acler8ng

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Location:
    fremont CA
    i took out the entire gauge cluster, replaced all the fuses, and checked the wires. the wires werent frayed and the connectors were fine, but half the wiring in the car is dead because the previous owner was to cheap to get it done right, so should i run a negative line to the battery and hook the other positives to a working live wire? or should i just pay the extra money and get my car re-wired?
     
  11. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
  12. hold on not done acler8ng

    hold on not done acler8ng hold on not done acler8ng

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Location:
    fremont CA
    alright, ill do that after i pay off my tickets
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page