1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

h22 into a f20 engined prelude

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> BA-BB /CA-CD' started by Stylieee, Feb 26, 2004.

  1. Stylieee

    Stylieee Junior Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    hi,
    im putting a jdm h22 into my prelude that currently has a f20 (uk spec 2.0i) engine in it.
    the problem is i dont have a h22 wiring harness, so im missing a few plugs.
    so... what can i do (other than spend £150 on a harness from a breakers)? can i get the necassery plugs new from somewhere and make up a subharness??
    any info greatly appreciated as im starting work on it this weekend. :unsure:
    thanks,
    Matt.
     
  2. H22AdelSol

    H22AdelSol Senior Member

    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Location:
    san diego, california
    like what plugs are missing?
     
  3. Stylieee

    Stylieee Junior Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    VTEC pressure, VTEC solenoid, Knock Sensor, and possibly IAB. basically all the one that the h22 has but the f20 doesnt.
     
  4. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State
    You add those wires to your modified stock harness.
     
  5. Stylieee

    Stylieee Junior Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    hmm, in the "how-to" on h22a.org it says:

    "*Wires to add:
    VTEC Solenoid: Grn/Yel on Prelude harness > Pin A4 on ECU // SENSOR LOCATION: Near distributor
    VTEC Pressure Switch: Lt Blu on Prelude harness > Pin D6 on ECU // SENSOR LOCATION: Near distributor
    Blk/Red > Ground
    IAB: Pink on Prelude harness > Pin A17 on ECU // SENSOR LOCATION: Drivers side of intake manifold
    Blk/Yel > 12V
    Knock Sensor: Red/Blu on Prelude harness > Pin D3 on ECU // SENSOR LOCATION: Middle back of block"

    so, i had assumed that the f20 wiring harness would not have plugs for these. and as i dont have an h22 harness to cut up and use for splicing i figured this would cause me proplems!?
    is this not the case then?? can i just run wires direct from the ecu to these sensors?

    im now very very confused!! :huh:
     
  6. H22AdelSol

    H22AdelSol Senior Member

    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Location:
    san diego, california
    I have a civic EX wiring harness on my h22. Added IAB + EGR. Harness was already sohc vtec so... you just got more wires to add. find the p13 pinouts and run wires. I find any harness that has obd1 vtec and cut the plugs off of them.
     
  7. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State
    You use your stock harness. You run additional wires to the ECU. You would want to have the plug ends that attach to your "new" sensors, for connectivity. However, this doesn't mean you need a complete new harness. My H22 came with a "cut" harness. All the plugs I needed were attached to the sensors already. From there, you solder a new wire to the dangling wire and run it in through the firewall to the ECU.

    I used my stock 1992 Honda Accord LX harness. Lengthen a few wires and add four more.
     
  8. Stylieee

    Stylieee Junior Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    ok panic over. it seems that my engine came with a semi-cut harness... some plugs were there and some werent. luckily it looks like i have all the ones i need though.
    thanks for the help :D
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page